Skip to Main Content

Cherokee Cultural Heritage 4113/AMST 5923: Books

Library Accounts

To check out items at NSU Libraries, the Information Desk is located on the 1st floor, north entrance of the John Vaughan Library. Information Desk contact phone number is 918-444-3235.

Loan Periods for check out items:

  • Three Weeks - for items from the Main Collection, Y Collection, Government Publications, and Curriculum Materials
  • One Week - for Audio Visual items (CDs or DVDs)
  • Library Use only - Periodicals, Newspapers, Magazines, and Reference materials
  • Special Collections items are non-circulating and must be used in Special Collections
  • Reserve Collection - Varies (check with the Information Desk for specifics)

Number of items that can be checked out at one time:

  • Undergraduate Students: 15
  • Graduate Students: 50

Print Limits:

Students are provided a 100 page print limit in the library at the start of each semester. Any additional pages can be purchased at the Information Desk. For additional information about borrowing, renewals, returns, and services, check out the Circulation link below.

Library Books

Use the Library Discovery system (see the link below) to search for books by keyword, title, author, or by using the subject search option. 

Example search terms:

personal narratives and oklahoma
oral history and oklahoma
​united states and oklahoma history
women oklahoma history
cherokee indians relocation
history native american

keetoowah indians
​cherokee indians history
oklahoma history
indians of north america
native americans history
removal act
andrew jackson and indian removal act
indian slaves and united states history
slaveholders indian territory

For additional tips and information about book searching see the Book Searching tab in this guide.

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

Discovery Searching

Through the NSU Libraries Discovery system, use keyword terms or subject terms to search for items. Oklahoma history and Native American information library records and vertical files are predominately located in the Special Collections of the John Vaughan Library. Additional copies of books and related materials can be found in the library's Main Collection. For information about NSU history, the NSU Archives department provides archival materials.  

Library Discovery system search: NOTE: For items owned by NSU Libraries, use the "Books & More" tab.

history native american
oklahoma documents
oklahoma interviews
oklahoma microform
historical museums oklahoma

Cherokee syllabary
Cherokee societies
​Cherokee National Female Seminary
Indians of North America Oklahoma Tahlequah
five civilized tribes
indians of north america relocation
Keetoowah and religion
Keetoowah society
indians of north america government relations
 

eBooks

Tip: When searching for information on topics in the database, EBSCOhost eBook Collection, use keywords or phrases. Be sure to enclose phrases inside quotation marks if you wish to keep the two terms together. The letters are not case sensitive.

cherokee indian history
five civilized tribes
​​cherokee indians societies
cherokee indians - ethnic identity
secret societies - oklahoma history

oral history and united states
personal narratives and united states
personal narratives and native american
united states history
oklahoma history