Drama 4013 Advanced Play Direction: Criticism - drama/plays

Below are examples of search terms, using the "Subject" search option:

• American  Drama
• American Drama History and Criticism
• Comedy History and Criticism
• Drama Bio-Bibliography Dictionaries
• Drama Dictionaries OR Theater Dictionaries
• Drama 20th century History and Criticism
• Drama Production (Arts)
• Theater - Encyclopedias
• Theater - History - 20th century - Encyclopedias

To search for criticism about a playwright and his or her plays, use the "Keyword" search option and combine terms. 
Example search:

• Albee and Goat

OR, search by the playwright's name and criticism 

Example search:

• Albee and criticism

When searching the Library Catalog for one-act plays, choose the subject search option and enter one act plays or one act plays American or drama collections. You can also use the keyword search.

Collections of plays or one-act plays can be located using the Library Discovery system. Use the "advanced" search platform in the "Books & Media" tab, select Publisher in the drop down menu, and enter, dramatists play service to pull records for one act plays.

Example search: dramatists play service

The following titles are located at the John Vaughan Library. Some are in the Reference Collection, and others are in the Main Collection.

• Anton Chekhov's Plays (PG3456.A19 B7)
• The Best One-Act Plays (PN6111.B47) 
• The Collected Works of John Ford (PR2521.M66)
• Drama on Stage (PN6112.G64) 
• Female Playwrights of the Restoration: Five Comedies (PR1266.F39)
• The Meridian Anthology of Restoration and Eighteenth-Century Plays by Women (PR1266.M47) 
• Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections: An Author and Title Index to Plays Appearing in Collections Published Since 1900 (Ref. PN1655.O8)
• The Play Index (Ref. PN2000.P53) an index to plays in anthologies
• Restoration Plays (PR1266.R47)