When searching the Library Catalog for one-act plays, choose the subject search option and enter one act plays or one act plays American or drama collections. You can also use the keyword search.
Collections of plays or one-act plays can be located using the Library Discovery system. Use the "advanced" search platform in the "Books & Media" tab, select Publisher in the drop down menu, and enter, dramatists play service to pull records for one act plays.
Example search: dramatists play service
The following titles are located at the John Vaughan Library. Some are in the Reference Collection, and others are in the Main Collection.
If you know the title to a book, use the "Title" search option. This search option will pull all records with that title listed in the NSU Libraries collections. For example, if there are several editions of the title in the collection under the same title, these records will be retrieved using the title search.
Example Title: Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
There are multiple library records for this title for the 4th, 5th, 6th, and 7th edition. Review the records to determine which one you need. If you only have a few words in the title, the system will search for any titles with those words.
Writing for Theatre by 
A Practical Guide to Greener Theatre by 
Theatre, Performance and Analogue Technology by 
Shakespeare in America by 
Dramaturgy of the Real on the World Stage by 
The Art of Theatre: Then and Now by The Author search locates all items written or co-authored by that author in the library's collections. From the Library Home page select the "Books & Media" tab at the top of the main library page and select "Author" from the drop down menu.
Tip: Enter the author's name and click search.
Example names:
Tip: If the author's name is similar to another author's name, provide the middle name initial.
Tip: Some author's names and middle initials are the same. If the middle name is given use it, if not generally a quick review of the book titles will determine which author is correct.
Tip: When searching for Latin names using the Library Catalog at NSU Libraries, they can differ in the way they are searched. However, when searching through the database WorldCat (OCLC), it will search for words and will return results.
Many systems, like databases, library catalogs online, and Google, default to the "Keyword" search, which uses "natural language" or words. This term or set of terms can appear anywhere or any field in a record, such as title, author, subject, note, etc. The meaning of the words are not considered. For example, the terms "heavy metal" could pull results related to music or related to soil content. Here are some basic tips on how to use the Keyword search.
Tip: Combine or group terms by enclosing them within quotation marks.
"drama criticism"
"performing arts"
Tip: Use the Keyword search to combine an author and keywords in a title of his or her work. For example, for information about the book, Writing for Theatre: Critical Approaches by Kim Wiltshire, or the fiction novel, House of the Spirits, by Isabel Allende, combine the author's last name and a keyword of the title of the work. Note: The names are not case sensitive. Additionally, the search may pull other non-related titles if the terms entered appear in the item record.
Ex: Frost and Mending
Ex: allende and spirits
Ex: Shakespeare and Hamlet
Ex: O'neill and hairy ape
Grouping: Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. Each group represents a similar level of relevance and results are sorted within the group by date or title. To get an ungrouped result set, use boolean operators to form a complex query.
Example: American drama and history and criticism
Example: theater AND United States
The "Subject" search uses a "controlled vocabulary" and focuses on subject terms or subject headings to define or to describe the information within the system. This type of search is targeted using specific terms or phrases that are highly relevant to the topic. It will locate all records on this subject and does not consider other fields, like the title or note fields as part of the search. This ensures the results are related and focused on the subject searched or the desired topic, which saves the user time.
Examples:
For additional information and to locate the Library of Congress subject authority headings and more, see the Library of Congress Authorities.
The following items are in eBook form and linked through the NSU Libraries Discovery system. Click on the "View eBook" icon in record to access it. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to enter your NSU id and Password.
Notable Playwrights by 
Script Analysis for Actors, Directors, and Designers by 
How Plays Work by 
Introduction to Literary Context: Plays by 
Making and Unmaking in Early Modern English Drama by 
The Death and Life of Drama by 
The Roots of Theatre by 
Women and Victorian Theatre by 