Skip to Main Content

Career Exploration for COLA Majors: Books

Guide to careers for College of Liberal Arts majors.

Library Accounts

To check out items at NSU Libraries, the Information Desk is located on the 1st floor, north entrance of the John Vaughan Library. The Information Desk contact phone number is 918-444-3235. 

Undergraduate Loan Periods for check out items:
Three Weeks - for items from the Main Collection, Y Collection, Government Publications, and Curriculum Materials
One Week - for Audio Visual items (CDs or DVDs)
Library Use only - Periodicals, Newspapers, Magazines, and Reference materials
Special Collections' items are non-circulating and must be used in Special Collections
Reserve Collection - Varies (check with the Information Desk for specifics)

Number of items that can be checked out at one time:
Undergraduate Students: 15

Print Limits:
Students are provided a 100 page print limit in the library at the start of each semester. Any additional pages can be purchased at the Information Desk.
 

JVL Books

Library Books

Use the Library Discovery system to search for books by keyword, title, author, or by using the subject search option. 

Example keywords and subject terms:

  • vocational guidance
  • vocational interests
  • college majors United States
  • job market trends AND secondary education
  • early childhood education AND vocational guidance
  • "job hunting" AND united states
  • "labor markets" AND STEM
  • career guidance AND secondary education
  • career guidance AND mechanical engineering
  • Internship programs
  • professions
  • college graduates employment
  • job hunting
  • job satisfaction
  • occupation
  • career development
  • early childhood education
  • vocational education and training
  • united states armed forces vocational guidance
  • armed forces vocational guidance

eBooks

Tip: When searching for information on topics in the database, EBSCOhost eBook Collection, use keywords or phrases. Be sure to enclose phrases inside quotation marks to keep the two terms together.

  • vocational guidance
  • career development
  • job hunting
  • careers
  • internships
  • job descriptions
  • occupations

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books, dvds, and articles) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

eBooks: Book series: Great Jobs for