Skip to Main Content

English - Controversial Topics: Books

This guide focuses on searching for information about controversial topics.

Library Accounts

To check out items at NSU Libraries, the Information Desk is located on the 1st floor, north entrance of the John Vaughan Library. Information Desk contact phone number is 918-444-3235.

Loan Periods for check out items:

  • Three Weeks - for items from the Main Collection, Y Collection, Government Publications, and Curriculum Materials
  • One Week - for Audio Visual items (CDs or DVDs)
  • Library Use only - Periodicals, Newspapers, Magazines, and Reference materials
  • Special Collections items are non-circulating and must be used in Special Collections
  • Reserve Collection - Varies (check with the Information Desk for specifics)

Number of items that can be checked out at one time:

  • Undergraduate Students: 15
  • Graduate Students: 50

Print Limits:

Students are provided a 100 page print limit in the library at the start of each semester. Any additional pages can be purchased at the Information Desk. For additional information about borrowing, renewals, returns, and services, check out the Circulation link below.

JVL Books

eBooks

Tip: When searching for information on topics in the database, EBSCOhost eBook Collection, use keywords or phrases. Be sure to enclose phrases inside quotation marks to keep the two terms together.

civil rights and "race relations"
euthanasia or "assisted suicide"
"gun violence"
doping or "doping in sports"
immigration
"climatic changes"

Library Books

Use the Library Discovery system to search for books by keyword, title, author, or by using the subject search option. 

Example subject terms:
body image
child abuse (abused children, battered child syndrome)
culture (cultural pluralism)
eating disorder (bulimia, anorexia nervosa, compulsive eating)
civil rights
climatic changes
computer crimes
human trafficking

For additional tips and information about book searching see the Book Searching tab in this guide. 

Series Book Titles (JVL)

The following series titles list books from the NSU Libraries collections, some in print and others in electronic format. These Series Titles offer information on a variety of controversial issues to assist in generating ideas and ways to explore topics. From the Library home page (see the link below),

  • Select the "Books & Media" tab
  • Choose the "Advanced Search"
  • From the drop down menu select the option "Series" 
  • Type in one of the series titles
  • Limit the search format to "Books"
  • Click on the Search button

Please note: using the "Advanced Search" option will search libraries worldwide. After running the search, refine the results to John Vaughan Library or Northeastern State University.

Series Titles:

  • At Issue
  • Contemporary World Issues
  • Opposing Viewpoints Series Unnumbered
  • The Reference Shelf

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.