Articles/Databases - Native American History - 3723 (Health Project) - LibGuides at Northeastern State University

Search Help

For search tips on how to perform database searching and tips on how to search Google, look for the "Search Tips" page under the Articles/Databases tab.

Remote Access to Library Resources
If you are accessing NSU Library databases remotely or off-campus, this page will assist you with answers to frequently asked questions

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Selected Databases

Accessible Archives
Provides access to archived historical information with diverse materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture.
America: History & Life
This bibliographic resource provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years. This source has proved to be an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life including a wide range of topics.
CINAHL Complete
The expanded version of the CINAHL index, CINAHL Plus provides an even wider scope of nursing and allied health journals, as well as a higher number of records, full-text and cited references. Content includes additional allied health literature and biomedical resources and records date back to 1937. In addition, CINAHL Plus provides Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline treatment options.
Digital Sanborn Maps (Oklahoma only)
Provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature, and is essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.
History Vault: American Indians and American West, 1809-1971
This module of the History Vault focuses on two major collections of the twentieth century, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these twentieth century records, it features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the nineteenth century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.

Note to Department: The History Vault collection is a perpetual license, purchased through the Center of Tribal Studies through their grant. Our sincere gratitude to them for working with us to assist in providing resources for our community. NSU Libraries will cover the hosting fees following this year.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, & Law
Over 3,000 titles and more than 1.3 million total pages dedicated to American Indian Law. Include treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
Military and Government Collection
Designed to offer current news through a collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content pertinent to the increasing needs for all branches of the military and government.

This collection provides full text for hundreds journals and periodicals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
PubMed
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 20 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including clinical medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers – biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science.

General Databases

Please note: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Subscription
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history and more.
ProQuest
Provides tools for discovery and citation management and platforms that allow library users to discover, manage, use and share research gained from authoritative content. Total content, including dissertations and theses, ebooks, newspapers, periodicals, historical collections, governmental and cultural archives and other aggregated databases is estimated at over 125 billion digital pages.

For a complete listing of the databases offered through the NSU Libraries organized by subject or listed alphabetically and the listing for databases by subject area Social Sciences/History see the links below:

News and Newswires

Oklahoman Archives

ProQuest News and Newspapers

Journals and Articles

Listed below are some journal titles related to American Indian topics (culture, education, history, research). Search by title through the library's "E-Journals by Title" tab from the NSU Libraries main page (link below) to find the journals location or how to access it electronically.

American Indian Culture and Research Journal (peer-reviewed journal)
American Indian Quarterly (peer-reviewed journal)
American Indian Law Review (peer-reviewed articles since Spring 2007)
Journal of American Indian Education (peer-reviewed journal)
Journal of Intercultural Disciplines (peer-reviewed journal)
Native American an Indigenous Studies
Native Peoples Magazine
Studies in American Indian Literatures (scholarly journal)
Tribal College Journal
Wicazo Sa Review (peer-reviewed journal)

NSU Libraries Home Page

Native American History - 3723 (Health Project): Articles/Databases