Native American Health -History - Native American History - 3723 (Health Project) - LibGuides at Northeastern State University

eBooks

Changing Numbers, Changing Needs : American Indian Demography and Public Health by Gary D. Sandefur; Ronald R. Rindfuss; Barney Cohen
ISBN: 9780585032467
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Disease and Medical Care in the Mountain West by Martha Lee Hildreth; Bruce T. Moran
ISBN: 9780874173819
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Encyclopedia of Native American Healing by William S. Lyon
Call Number: E98 .M4 L96 1996
ISBN: 9780874368529
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
Killing Us Quietly by Irene S. Vernon
ISBN: 9780803246683
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
The Medicine Men by Thomas H. Lewis
ISBN: 9780585275055
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
Medicine Women, Curanderas, and Women Doctors by Bobette Perrone; Victoria Krueger; H. Henrietta Stockel
ISBN: 9780806175201
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Pioneer Days in the Early Southwest by Grant Foreman
ISBN: 9780585268446
Publication Date: 1994-01-01
Reproductive Justice by Barbara Gurr
ISBN: 9780813564708
Publication Date: 2014-12-09

Searching Tips

Search terms to locate information through the Discovery system or databases about Native American health.

disease outbreaks history
communicable diseases history
epidemics and infectious diseases
smallpox epidemic
smallpox epidemic and native americans
cherokee indians diseases
indians of north america
indians of north america diseases
smallpox southern states history and cherokee
cherokee indians colonization health aspects history
cherokee indians medicine
indian health
indians of north america mental health
indians of north america health and hygiene
indians of north america and spiritual healing
indians of north america and women physicians
native peoples medical care
native peoples diseases
native peoples health and hygiene
indians of north america legal status
indian courts united states

Websites

Additional Information

The following is a selective list of legislative events about health care for American Indians and Alaska Natives. For more information about these events, see link below for the database HeinOnline: Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law.

Example Search Terms:

Landmark Indian Law Cases
Cherokee Nation v. Georgia (1831)
Worcester v. Georgia (1832)
Snyder Act of 1921
Johnson-O'Malley Act of 1934
Indian Reorganization Act of 1934 (IRA) or Wheeler-Howard Act
Indian Health Facilities Act of 1954
Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act of 1975
Indian Health Care Improvement Act of 1976

Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, & Law
Over 3,000 titles and more than 1.3 million total pages dedicated to American Indian Law. Include treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.

Native American Disease History: Past, Present and Future Directions (article)
This article is located in an EBSCOhost database. If you are reading this remotely, you may be prompted to enter your NSU id and Password to access the full text article.