LibGuides: Library Resources and Instruction for History: American History

Finding Print Material

John Vaughan Library (Tahlequah campus) uses the Library of Congress classification system for the following library collections:

Curriculum Materials (circulating collection, 2nd floor)
Main Collection (circulating collection, 3rd floor)
Periodicals (non-circulating collection, 2nd floor)
Reference Collection (non-circulating collection, 1st floor)
Special Collections (non-circulating collection, 1st floor)

Library of Congress Classification Outline
LC-call numbers (by main classes) on how materials are organized and how to read call numbers in an academic library.

Subclass E for American History

Newspapers

Access U.S. Newswires
A full-text collection of current and archived articles from key domestic newswires.

News and Newspapers online
Covers current and past events in a variety of websites and newspaper sources.

NewsBank
Consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
Newspaper Source Plus
With more than 58 million full-text articles from more than 1,200 newspapers, this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major newspaper content.
Newswires (AP, UPI, etc.)
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
Oklahoman Archives
Back issues of the Oklahoman Newspaper (1901 to present).
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Access to the archive of the New York Times from 1851 to present.

Online Resources

American Presidency Project
Containing 168 Presidential and 758 Non-Presidential records/documents.
Digital Public Library of America
Photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Documenting the American South
Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
Early English Books Online Collections
The EEBO-TCP corpus consists of the works represented in the Early English Books Online collections known as Short Title Catalogues I and II (based on the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogs respectively), as well as the Thomason Tracts and the Early English Books Tract Supplement collections. Together these trace the history of English thought from the first book printed in English in 1475 through to 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online includes significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Historic photographs, presidential papers, and more from the Library of Congress (migrated from the American Memory project)
New York Public Library Digital Collection
More than 800,000 historic photographs, posters, maps, and other images from the collections of the New York Public Library
State Historical Digital Collections
This guide is designed to serve as a gateway to state archives, libraries, and consortiums that provide access to a wide range of historical digital collections and document indexes for all 50 states.
teachinghistory.com
Reviews of American history-related websites and primary sources (from the National History Education Clearinghouse)

Databases

Accessible Archives
Provides access to archived historical information with diverse materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture.
America: History & Life
This bibliographic resource provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years. This source has proved to be an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America
Covers all aspects of native North American culture, history and life including a wide range of topics.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Has over 55,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

Popular collection categories are antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall & case, children's, and manuscript maps. Search examples: Pictorial maps, United States maps, Geology maps, California map, Afghanistan map, America map, New York City map, Chicago map, and U.S. Civil War maps. Browse map categories: What, Where, Who, When. The collection is used to study history, art, genealogy, explorations, and family history.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples in texts published in multiple languages, including, but not limited to, German, French, Spanish, Polish and Scandinavian.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature, and is essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.
History Vault: American Indians and American West, 1809-1971
This module of the History Vault focuses on two major collections of the twentieth century, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these twentieth century records, it features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the nineteenth century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.

Note to Department: The History Vault collection is a perpetual license, purchased through the Center of Tribal Studies through their grant. Our sincere gratitude to them for working with us to assist in providing resources for our community. NSU Libraries will cover the hosting fees following this year.
Indian-Pioneer Papers Collection
NOTE: This resource is currently unavailable. The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there. Consisting of approximately 80,000 entries, the index to this collection may be accessed via personal name, place name, or subject.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, & Law
Over 3,000 titles and more than 1.3 million total pages dedicated to American Indian Law. Include treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
Native Americans in History, Part I
Part I: Newspapers, 1778-1922 - News reports and popular editorials provide a variety of points of view on Native Americans. Reports from Native American delegations and personal views of chiefs are also presented.
Native Americans in History, Part II
Part II: Books, 1663-1928 - Woven into the fabric of local, regional, and national history, Part II’s e-books provide an engaging narrative history on Native American social, political, and economic interactions with white Americans.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Alexander Street/ProQuest: Brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Essential resource for serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.
U.S. Army Center of Military History
Army history research guides.
War of the Rebellion: a Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies
The most extensive collection of primary sources of the history of the American Civil War.