LibGuides: Library Resources and Instruction for History: European History

Finding Print Material

John Vaughan Library (Tahlequah campus) uses the Library of Congress classification system for the following library collections:

Curriculum Materials (circulating collection, 2nd floor)
Main Collection (circulating collection, 3rd floor)
Periodicals (non-circulating collection, 2nd floor)
Reference Collection (non-circulating collection, 1st floor)
Special Collections (non-circulating collection, 1st floor)

Library of Congress Classification Outline
LC-call numbers (by main classes) on how materials are organized and how to read call numbers in an academic library.

Subclass D European History

D History (general)
DA Great Britain
DAW Central Europe
DB Austria, Liechtenstein, Hungary, Czechoslovakia
DC France, Andorra, Monaco
DD Germany
DE Greco-Roman World
DF Greece
DG Italy, Malta
DH Low Countries-Benelux Countries
DJ Netherlands (Holland)
DJK Eastern Europe (General)
DK Russia, Soviet Union, Former Soviet Republics, Poland
DL Northern Europe, Scandinavia
DP Spain, Portugal
DQ Switzerland
DR Balkan Peninsula

Newspapers

NewsBank
Consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
Newswires (AP, UPI, etc.)
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.
Newspaper Source Plus
With more than 58 million full-text articles from more than 1,200 newspapers, this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major newspaper content.

Databases

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
Has over 55,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

Popular collection categories are antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall & case, children's, and manuscript maps. Search examples: Pictorial maps, United States maps, Geology maps, California map, Afghanistan map, America map, New York City map, Chicago map, and U.S. Civil War maps. Browse map categories: What, Where, Who, When. The collection is used to study history, art, genealogy, explorations, and family history.
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750
A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750 from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to the Americas, 1493-1750. The database contains more than 32,000 records, and covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples in texts published in multiple languages, including, but not limited to, German, French, Spanish, Polish and Scandinavian.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature, and is essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture, & Law
This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Our cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.

Online Resources

Archives Portal Europe
Archives Portal Europe provides you with a single access to find, browse and discover information on archives about Europe held by thousands of cultural heritage institutions from more than 30 countries. We continually grow and expand our content, adding more countries, more institutions, and more archival collections.
Early English Books Online Collections
The EEBO-TCP corpus consists of the works represented in the Early English Books Online collections known as Short Title Catalogues I and II (based on the Pollard & Redgrave and Wing short title catalogs respectively), as well as the Thomason Tracts and the Early English Books Tract Supplement collections. Together these trace the history of English thought from the first book printed in English in 1475 through to 1700.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Eighteenth Century Collections Online includes significant English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
European History Online
EGO | European History Online is a history of modern Europe from the perspectives of communication and transfer. Its more than 200 articles, which are published online (open access) in English and German, are organized by area, topic, and time period.
The European Library
The European Library is designed to meet the needs of the research community worldwide, our online portal offers quick and easy access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries.
Internet History Sourcebooks
a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here mainly for use in high-school and university/college courses. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history.