Depending on the database, it may offer a variety of ways to limit your results:
For articles that are not available in full text, use the InterLibrary Loan service.
Most databases use a controlled vocabulary to organize information and make browsing more efficient and specific to chosen terms. When building your search string, consider keywords, synonyms or related terms.
Combine or group terms or concepts using the Boolean operator AND to refine your search string: drama AND 20th century or try the search string: drama AND criticism. Check to see if the database offers a Thesaurus or a Subject Terms tab or link. For instance, the database Academic Search Premier offers a subject terms tab, and the OmniFile Full Text Mega database features a Thesaurus tab. Enter terms in the Browsing box to see how the database recognizes them. See links to these two databases below.
Listed below are several peer-reviewed journals accessible in different databases. To see which databases carry these titles, use the E-Journals by Title link below. Some articles will be available in full text and others will need to go through the InterLibrary Loan department for the full text article.
YouTube video created by NSU Libraries on how to search multiple EBSCOhost databases simultaneously.
Many databases offer a tab called "Publications" where one can enter a title or a keyword or subject term and locate the journals relating to this subject area.
For example, in the OmniFile Full Text Mega database, it offers the Publications tab and when the term drama is entered into the Browse box and using the By Subject & Description selection, over 30 periodicals relating to drama will display. You can select to search by journal or select multiple journals and add to the search.