General databases are also considered multi-disciplinary databases, meaning they provide information for many subject areas. Examples of some general databases through NSU are ABI Inform, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, MasterFile Premier, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ProQuest, Salem Press Titles, or WorldCat. These databases provide a starting point for research, especially when working with a variety of topics.
Subject databases are designed to provide information for a particular subject area. For example, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Full Text, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, ERIC, or Education Full Text.
When searching for information, try using the general databases as well as those in your subject area. See the below link to the NSU Libraries Articles and Databases by Subject for a complete listing of databases, both general and by subject.
For search tips on how to perform database searching and tips on how to search Google, look for the "Search Tips" page under the Articles/Databases tab.
For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.
See the Articles and Databases A to Z page (link below) for Featured Databases listed among the subscription databases.
Alexander Street video includes documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs, and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Patrons will find many award-winning films.
A comprehensive, curriculum-focused video collection. Offers features to assist faculty, students, and libraries.
To begin your academic research in support of your course work, see the selected databases listed below. They represent our general databases and are a mixture of free access and subscription databases. Some offer peer-reviewed articles as well as additional periodical formats. Please note: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.
Comprehensive collection of full text poetry, short stories, biographies, and authoritative essays on topics like poetic forms, movements, and techniques
For a complete listing of the databases offered through the NSU Libraries organized by subject or listed alphabetically visit:
Frequently, journal articles are peer-reviewed or refereed. What does it mean to be peer-reviewed or refereed?
A peer-reviewed journal is one that is reviewed by persons who are not members of the editorial board, and who are not paid employees of the journal. The reviewers are peers of the authors in the sense that they have comparable academic or professional experience, and are thus qualified to meaningfully critique the quality of the article. The decision whether or not to publish an article normally depends primarily on the judgment of the reviewers, though the editors arbitrate between--and sometimes override the reviewers decisions. The purpose of a peer review system is to ensure an objective standard of quality in articles accepted for publication, which does not depend merely on the subjective preferences of the editorial staff (as long as the articles are consistent with the goals of the journal).
Refereed is another name for peer-review, as the peers who review the article serve as a sort of referee.
The peer-reviewed label means literally that a panel of independent scholars have recommended the article for publication.
A way to be absolutely sure an article is from a peer-reviewed journal is to look in the database, UlrichsWeb (see the below link). When you find your journal in UlrichsWeb, make sure there is a referee jersey icon associated with the title.
A 'high-speed', searchable online database, features comprehensive profiles on over 1.5 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Recognized globally since 1899 as the premier biographical data provider, Marquis Who's Who now gives you the ability to conduct powerful searches of its entire database of achievers from around the globe. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more.
