For search tips on how to perform database searching and tips on how to search Google, look for the "Search Tips" page under the Articles/Databases tab.
For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.
General databases are also considered multi-disciplinary databases, meaning they provide information for many subject areas. Examples of some general databases through NSU are ABI Inform, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, MasterFile Premier, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ProQuest, Salem Press Titles, or WorldCat. These databases provide a starting point for research, especially when working with a variety of topics.
Subject databases are designed to provide information for a particular subject area. For example, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Full Text, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, ERIC, or Education Full Text.
When searching for information, try using the general databases as well as those in your subject area. See the below link to the NSU Libraries Articles and Databases by Subject for a complete listing of databases, both general and by subject.
Scholarly Periodicals: The journal listing below provides an example of some of the scholarly periodicals for this area of study.
Provides academic and public libraries digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. In electronic form, Sanborn Maps take on much improved value over the microfilm versions of the same maps, allowing for greater flexibility of use and improved viewing possibilities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections.
This module of the History Vault focuses on two major collections of the twentieth century, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these twentieth century records, it features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the nineteenth century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.
Note to Department: The History Vault collection is a perpetual license, purchased through the Center of Tribal Studies through their grant. Our sincere gratitude to them for working with us to assist in providing resources for our community. NSU Libraries will cover the hosting fees following this year.
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
Please note: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.
For a complete listing of the databases offered through the NSU Libraries organized by subject or listed alphabetically visit:
See the Articles and Databases A to Z page (link below) for Featured Databases listed among the subscription databases.
Alexander Street video includes documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs, and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Patrons will find many award-winning films.
A comprehensive, curriculum-focused video collection. Offers features to assist faculty, students, and libraries.
