Search the database, EBSCOhost eBook Collection for eBooks.
In the search box, use keywords/phrases such as
"history Latin America"
"spanish culture"
"latino culture"
"hispanic culture" or "hispanic literature"
"Mexico history"
"Chile history"
"Guatemala history"
Try searching by or about a person, or event such as "Benito Juarez" or "Cinco de Mayo"
Another source you can trying searching for e-books is:
If you are searching for a book in addition to those owned by NSU Libraries, search any of the below databases:WorldCat (First Search) or WorldCat (OCLC). Note: the WorldCat databases will locate items (books, dvds, and articles) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.
For books NOT owned by NSU Libraries, you will need to submit a request through your InterLibrary Loan account (ILL) to have titles sent to one of the NSU Libraries (Tahlequah or Broken Arrow).
See the ILL/FAQ page for additional information about our ILL as well as the Document Delivery service.
Use the Library Discovery system below to search for books by keyword, by title, by author, or by using the "Subject Headings" search. If searching for information about a person try using the subject search or advanced keyword search. For example, the name "Benito Juarez" or "Porfirio Diaz." (NOTE: type the last name then the first name in search box.) Or a keyword search for the, "Battle of Puebla" or by the event, "Cinco de Mayo."
For information about the history or culture of a country, try a keyword search or subject search with terms such as "Latin America History" or "Latin America Civilization" or narrow the search terms to a particular country.
Example subject terms: (history)
Example Book Titles:
Many systems, like databases, library catalogs online, and Google, default to the "Keyword" search, which uses "natural language" or words. This term or set of terms can appear anywhere or any field in a record, such as title, author, subject, note, etc. The meaning of the words are not considered. For example, the terms "heavy metal" could pull results related to music or related to soil content. Here are some basic tips on how to use the Keyword search.
Tip: Used the Keyword search to combine an author and keywords in a title of his or her work. For example, for information about the poem, "Mending Wall", by Robert Frost, or the fiction novel, House of the Spirits, by Isabel Allende, combine the author's last name and a keyword of the title of the work. Note: The names are not case sensitive. Additionally, the search may pull other non-related titles if the terms entered appear in the item record.
Tip: Combine or group terms by enclosing them within quotation marks.
"Spanish literature history and criticism"
Grouping: Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. Each group represents a similar level of relevance and results are sorted within the group by date or title. To get an ungrouped result set, use boolean operators to form a complex query.
The "Author" search locates all items written or co-authored by the author in the library's collections. From the Library Home page select the "Books & More" tab at the top of the main library page and select "Author" from the drop down menu.
Tip: Enter the author's name in the search box and click search.
Example names:
Tip: If the author's name is similar to another author's name, provide the middle name initial.
Tip: Some author's names and middle initials are the same. If the middle name is given use it, if not generally a quick review of the book titles will determine which author is correct.
Tip: When searching for Latin names using the Library Catalog at NSU Libraries, they can differ in the way they are searched. However, when searching through the database WorldCat (OCLC), it will search for words and will return results.
The "Subject" search uses a "controlled vocabulary" and focuses on subject terms or subject headings to define or to describe the information within the system. This type of search is targeted using specific terms or phrases that are highly relevant to the topic. It will locate all records on this subject and does not consider other fields, like the title or note fields as part of the search. This ensures the results are related and focused on the subject searched or the desired topic, which saves the user time.
Examples:
For additional information and to locate the Library of Congress subject authority headings and more, see the Library of Congress Authorities link below.
The following books are not owned by NSU Libraries and would need to be requested through InterLibrary Loan.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by 
Textured Lives: women, art, and representation in modern Mexico by 
