LibGuides: Nursing: Article Databases &amp; eJournals

Need Nursing Articles?

Check the databases below. Email your librarian at demaryj@nsuok.edu for help and tips.

CINAHL Complete
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Core research tool that contains full text of 1,400 journals, and citations in more than 5,300 journals
ClinicalKey for Nursing
[Restricted] Provides access to authoritative medical information at all levels from topic overview to evidence-based data in one search. Contains full text of books, journals, nursing care documents, and other resources unique to all aspects of nursing practice, as well as images and videos.

Cochrane Library - including Systematic Reviews
A collection of databases containing high quality, in-depth evidence to assist in healthcare decision making. Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, which provides peer-reviewed systematic reviews and protocols.

DailyMed
Free federal database on medications and supplements.
Tips:
-Targeted to professionals; not as good for patients
-Use NDC to search for optimal results
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
HaPI assists researchers, practitioners, educators, administrators, and evaluators, including students, to identify measures needed for research studies, grant proposals, client/patient assessment, class papers/projects, theses/dissertations, and program evaluation. To access, click on the second box from the top and click "OK."

MEDLINE (EBSCO)
MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 20 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including clinical medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers – biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science.

Native Health Database
The Native Health Database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. The database provides information for the benefit, use, and education of organizations and individuals with an interest in health-related issues, programs, and initiatives regarding North American indigenous peoples.
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI)
Evidence-based practice database that allows you to search simultaneously. Has a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, evidence summaries, systematic reviews, and best practice info sheets, all in full text. To access, select the first box and click "OK."
UpToDate
[Restricted] offers synoptic, evidence-based information for fast, convenient use at the point of care. Participating clinicians and physicians review the available literature, latest evidence, and provide care recommendations

Restricted Access Resources

Faced with a blue box demanding a new password? If your instructor did not provide this unique password, contact the librarian at demaryj@nsuok.edu.

Nursing eJournals

Difficulty accessing a journal? Be sure to sign in with your NSU credentials. For additional assistance, contact your librarian at demaryj@nsuok.edu or 918-444-3263.

Search All NSU Libraries eJournals

Search All NSU eJournals

Monitoring Retractions and Predatory Journals

Retraction Watch
Tracking retractions as a window into the scientific process

Note: This video has no audio