COMM1113 Oral Communication: Articles/Databases

Providing the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline.

CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 500 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e., searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core").

In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues.

Full text psychology database for nearly 400 journals covering topics in emotional and behaviorial characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language social science journals.

Database coverage for more than 500 full text journals, including nearly 500 peer-reviewed titles. Topic coverage in all areas of sociology: social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.

Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries, and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.

The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Materials available in libraries worldwide (FirstSearch version)

This database delivers over 1,800 journals, with more than 1,200 available in full-text. It covers a variety of business-related subject areas including financial, pharmaceuticals, manufacturing and more.

This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

Associates Programs Source is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing hundreds of full-text journals, it covers the most relevant subjects for associates programs. Subjects Include alcohol and drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, fire science, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.

Containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.

This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.

Consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history and more.

Covers different views on today's current events and social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana.

Provides tools for discovery and citation management and platforms that allow library users to discover, manage, use and share research gained from authoritative content. Total content, including dissertations and theses, ebooks, newspapers, periodicals, historical collections, governmental and cultural archives and other aggregated databases is estimated at over 125 billion digital pages.

A full-text collection of current and archived articles from key domestic newswires.

Consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.

Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis.

With more than 58 million full-text articles from more than 1,200 newspapers, this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major newspaper content.

Back issues of the Oklahoman Newspaper (1901 to present).

Access to the archive of the New York Times from 1851 to present.