LibGuides: English 2113 Introduction to Literature: Articles/Databases

Biography Databases

When searching for an author's biographical information, try some of the databases listed below

Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Gale)
This database indexes more than 15 million individuals, living and deceased, covered in more than 1700 biographical reference sources.
Something About the Author (Gale Literature)
provides electronic access to all volumes of Something About the Author and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. This critically acclaimed series spotlights more than 12,000 individuals in entries that typically cover personal life, career, writings, adaptations, and additional sources. Autobiographical essays average about 10,000 words and discuss the author's career, interests and motivation, among other topics.

News and Newswires

NewsBank
Consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
Newspaper Source Plus
With more than 58 million full-text articles from more than 1,200 newspapers, this database provides a comprehensive collection of the world's major newspaper content.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Access to the archive of the New York Times from 1851 to present.

Chronicling America-Historic American Newspapers
Library of Congress website for online research for historic newspapers.
News and Newspapers online
List of newspapers that cover current and past events in a variety of websites and newspaper sources.
Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading Room (LOC)
The Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room has one of the largest, most comprehensive newspaper collections in the world, and it includes major titles published in all U.S. states and territories as well as titles from most independent countries and many dependent states around the world spanning the past five centuries.
The Northeastern
Northeastern State University's student newspaper
Tahlequah Daily Press
Tahlequah, Oklahoma's local newspaper

General and Subject Databases

General databases are considered multi-disciplinary databases, meaning they provide information for many subject areas. Examples of some general databases through NSU are ABI Inform, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, MasterFile Premier, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ProQuest, Salem Press Titles, or WorldCat. These databases provide a starting point for research, especially when working with a variety of topics.

Subject databases are designed to provide information for a particular subject area. For example, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Full Text, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, ERIC, or Education Full Text.

When searching for information, try using the general databases as well as those in your subject area. See the below link to the NSU Libraries Articles and Databases by Subject for a complete listing of databases, both general and by subject.

Subject and Featured Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Alexander Street video includes documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs, and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Patrons will find many award-winning films.
History Commons
Provides access to archived historical information with diverse materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues.
Films On Demand

A comprehensive, curriculum-focused video collection. Offers features to assist faculty, students, and libraries.
Literature (Gale)
Provides combined access to Literature Criticism Online (10 multidisciplinary series) and to Literature Resource Center.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.

Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Source

Comprehensive collection of full text poetry, short stories, biographies, and authoritative essays on topics like poetic forms, movements, and techniques

General Databases

To begin your academic research in support of your course work, see the selected databases listed below. They represent our general databases and are a mixture of free access and subscription databases. Some offer peer-reviewed articles as well as additional periodical formats. Please note: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center - EBSCOhost)
An online library of education research and information, sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
Humanities Full Text
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Subscription
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
MLA International Bibliography
Contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history and more.
ProQuest
Provides tools for discovery and citation management and platforms that allow library users to discover, manage, use and share research gained from authoritative content. Total content, including dissertations and theses, ebooks, newspapers, periodicals, historical collections, governmental and cultural archives and other aggregated databases is estimated at over 125 billion digital pages.

Library Instructor

Courtney Helm

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office: 213c

(918) 444-3266