The Literature of Spain and Latin America by 
The Norton Anthology of Latino Literature by 
Breaking Boundaries by 
I, Rigoberta Menchú by 
Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature by 
Modern Latin American Fiction Writers by 
Latin-American Women Writers: Class, Race, and Gender by 
Modern Spanish American Poets by 
Latin American Writers by 
Modern women poets of Spanish America : the precursors, Delmira Agustini, Gabriela Mistral, Alfonsina Storni, Juana de Ibarbourou by 
In the Time of the Butterflies by 
Business of Empire by 
Pablo Neruda: Five Decades, 1925-1970 by Many systems, like databases, library catalogs online, and Google, default to the "Keyword" search, which uses "natural language" or words. This term or set of terms can appear anywhere or any field in a record, such as title, author, subject, note, etc. The meaning of the words are not considered. For example, the terms "heavy metal" could pull results related to music or related to soil content. Here are some basic tips on how to use the Keyword search.
Tip: Used the Keyword search to combine an author and keywords in a title of his or her work. For example, for information about the poem, "Mending Wall", by Robert Frost, or the fiction novel, House of the Spirits, by Isabel Allende, combine the author's last name and a keyword of the title of the work. Note: The names are not case sensitive. Additionally, the search may pull other non-related titles if the terms entered appear in the item record.
Tip: Combine or group terms by enclosing them within quotation marks.
"spanish literature history and criticism"
Grouping: Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. Each group represents a similar level of relevance and results are sorted within the group by date or title. To get an ungrouped result set, use boolean operators to form a complex query.
The "Author" search locates all items written or co-authored by that author in the library's collections. From the Library Home page select the "Books & Media" tab at the top of the main library page and select "Author" from the drop down menu.
Tip: Enter the author's name in the search box an click search.
Example names:
Tip: If the author's name is similar to another author's name, provide the middle name initial.
Tip: Some author's names and middle initials are the same. If the middle name is given use it, if not generally a quick review of the book titles will determine which author is correct.
Tip: When searching for Latin names using the Library Catalog at NSU Libraries, they can differ in the way they are searched. However, when searching through the database WorldCat (OCLC), it will search for words and will return results.
The "Subject" search uses a "controlled vocabulary" and focuses on subject terms or subject headings to define or to describe the information within the system. This type of search is targeted using specific terms or phrases that are highly relevant to the topic. It will locate all records on this subject and does not consider other fields, like the title or note fields as part of the search. This ensures the results are related and focused on the subject searched or the desired topic, which saves the user time.
Examples:
For additional information and to locate the Library of Congress subject authority headings and more, see the Library of Congress Authorities link below.
For a study about an author try searching for theses or dissertations that can provide in depth studies about the author, his or her life, particular bodies of work (poetry, drama, short stories, etc.).These studies provide excellent reference materials and bibliographies, which are beneficial in deepening ones search. Consider using the database WorldCat Dissertations and Theses (link below). Additionally, one can search for theses/dissertations through the worldwide web search (see the Google Scholar link below). Most of these items will not be owned by NSU Libraries and will need to be requested through Interlibrary Loan. For further information about Interlibrary Loan, see the Library Services tab in this guide.
The following books are not owned by NSU Libraries and would need to be requested through InterLibrary Loan.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 by 
Textured Lives: women, art, and representation in modern Mexico by For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books, dvds, and articles) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.
