To check out items at NSU Libraries, the Information Desk is located on the 1st floor, north entrance of the John Vaughan Library. The Information Desk contact phone number is 918-444-3235.
Undergraduate Loan Periods for check out items:
Three Weeks - for items from the Main Collection, Y Collection, Government Publications, and Curriculum Materials
One Week - for Audio Visual items (CDs or DVDs)
Library Use only - Periodicals, Newspapers, Magazines, and Reference materials
Special Collections' items are non-circulating and must be used in Special Collections
Reserve Collection - Varies (check with the Information Desk for specifics)
Number of items that can be checked out at one time:
Undergraduate Students: 15
Students are provided a 100 page print limit in the library at the start of each semester. Any additional pages can be purchased at the Information Desk.
Use the Library Discovery system to search for books by keyword, title, author, or by using the subject search option.
Example search terms:
For information about American history or events to 1877-
For additional tips and information about book searching see the Book Searching tab in this guide.
For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books, dvds, and articles) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.
Tip: When searching for information on topics in the database, EBSCOhost eBook Collection, use keywords or phrases. Be sure to enclose phrases inside quotation marks if you wish to keep the two terms together. The letters are not case sensitive.
Using the "Subject" search option in the Library Discovery system, consider the following:
The following titles can be found at the John Vaughan Library in the Reference Collection. This collection is "library use only."