Oklahoma History Websites - Native American History - 3723 - LibGuides at Northeastern State University

Native Americans and Railroads

Below are some search terms to use to locate information for library records focusing on railways, railroads, and Native Americans.

Search Terms:

Indians of North America AND railways
Indians of North America AND railroads
Indians of North America AND railroads Indian Territory
Railroads Oklahoma Tahlequah
Indians of North America Land Tenure
Railroads right of way Indian Territory
Oklahoma Indian Territory AND railroads right of way
Railroads history AND Oklahoma
Ozark and Cherokee Central Railroad
Railroads West (U.S.) History
Pacific railroads AND Indian Territory

Below are some links to websites and library records.

Custer and the 1873 Yellowstone Survey by M. John Lubetkin (Editor)
Call Number: E83 .866 .C959 2013
ISBN: 9780870624278
Publication Date: 2013-10-18
Chasing Shadows by Shelley Ann Bowen Hatfield
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780585200958
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Working on the Railroad, Walking in Beauty by Jay Youngdahl
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780874218541
Publication Date: 2011-10-23
Transcontinental Railroad (DVD)
ISBN: 9780793691210
Publication Date: 2005

Oklahoma Newspapers

Search the Library Discovery system to locate titles for Oklahoma newspapers:

Example papers:

Evaluating Websites

Please see information guide provided by UMass Amherst Libraries about College Writing and Evaluating Websites, Evaluating Resources on the Web, and Evaluating Videos. See link below.

UMass LibGuide-Evaluating Resources

Oklahoma History

The following websites offer information about Oklahoma History.

American Indian Resources (OHS)
These records offer materials about many Indian tribes in the Oklahoma territory.
Chronicles of Oklahoma
Sponsored by the Oklahoma Historical Society and the Oklahoma State University Library, this site offers articles about Oklahoma history.
Early Oklahoma Serials
This serials project works with specific magazine publications dating between 1890-1910.
Gateway to Oklahoma History
Sponsored by the Oklahoma Historical Society, the Gateway is an online repository of Oklahoma History. This repository of newspaper pages, cover the span of years from the 184s to the 1920s. Researchers can browse by collection, location, resource type, dates, or publication title. Resource types include: photographs, newspapers, maps, some books and postcards.
Indian-Pioneer Papers
The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection ranges from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life in the region.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, these seven volumes provide U.S. Government treaties, laws, and executive orders related to Native American Indian tribes dating from 1777-1970. These seven volumes are also available for "library use only" at the John Vaughan Library, NSU Tahlequah campus, on the 2nd floor in Special Collections.
Manuscript Archives - Oklahoma Historical Society
Select documents from the Oklahoma Historical Society.
NARA Documents for Oklahoma Statehood
The NARA documents for Oklahoma Statehood congressional records.
National Archives and Records Administration
Official site of the National Archives.
Oklahoma Historical Society (OHS) - History Center
Founded in 1898, the Oklahoma Historical Society offers impressive collections of historical information about Oklahoma that are researchable online.
Oklahoma Historical Society - Research Center
Focused site for research.
Voices of Oklahoma
Voices of Oklahoma offers oral histories of famous Oklahomans and ordinary citizens.

Videos

This video, Oklahoma Indians: We Are Who We Were, has auto-generated close captioning and is not accessible on any device requiring screen reader capabilities. Copy and paste this URL into a browser window to access this video.

https://youtu.be/OzTwHcXVWPM

Native American History - 3723: Oklahoma History Websites

Native Americans and Railroads

Oklahoma Newspapers

Evaluating Websites

Oklahoma History

Videos