Skip to Main Content

English - Persons or Organizations Making a Difference: Books

Library Accounts

To check out items at NSU Libraries, the Information Desk is located on the 1st floor, north entrance of the John Vaughan Library. The Information Desk contact phone number is 918-444-3235. 

Undergraduate Loan Periods for check out items:
Three Weeks - for items from the Main Collection, Y Collection, Government Publications, and Curriculum Materials
One Week - for Audio Visual items (CDs or DVDs)
Library Use only - Periodicals, Newspapers, Magazines, and Reference materials
Special Collections' items are non-circulating and must be used in Special Collections
Reserve Collection - Varies (check with the Information Desk for specifics)

Number of items that can be checked out at one time:
Undergraduate Students: 20

Print Limits:
Students are provided a 100 page print limit in the library at the start of each semester. Any additional pages can be purchased at the Information Desk.

JVL Books

eBooks

Tip: When searching for information on topics in the database, EBSCOhost eBook Collection, use keywords or phrases. Be sure to enclose phrases inside quotation marks to keep the two terms together.

animal rights movement
civil rights movement
environmentalists
humanitarian assistance
nonprofit organizations
philanthropy & charity
political activists

Library Books

Use the Library Discovery system at the below link to search for books by keyword, title, author, or by using the subject search option. 

Example subject terms:
animal rights activists
civil rights or civil rights activists
environmentalism
heroes
nonprofit organizations or non-governmental organizations
voluntarism

For additional tips and information about book searching see the Book Searching tab in this guide. 

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books, dvds, and articles) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.