General databases are also considered multi-disciplinary databases, meaning they provide information for many subject areas. Examples of some general databases through NSU are ABI Inform, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, MasterFile Premier, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ProQuest, Salem Press Titles, or WorldCat. These databases provide a starting point for research, especially when working with a variety of topics.
Subject databases are designed to provide information for a particular subject area. For example, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Full Text, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, ERIC, or Education Full Text.
When searching for information, try using the general databases as well as those in your subject area. See the below link to the NSU Libraries Articles and Databases by Subject for a complete listing of databases, both general and by subject.
Depending on the database, it may offer a variety of ways to limit your results:
For articles that are not available in full text, use the InterLibrary Loan service.
Each database uses controlled subject headings. When searching, combine or group terms using the Boolean operator "AND" to refine your search string: writing evaluation AND English instruction or try the search string: writing processes AND teaching methods AND secondary. Check to see if it offers a Thesaurus or a Subject Terms tab. For instance, in ERIC, choose the Thesaurus tab and in the Browsing box enter terms to see how the database recognizes them:
"writing centers" would be "laboratories; writing (composition)"
"writing development" would be "writing (composition)".
Additional subject headings include writing instruction, writing strategies
English instruction, English curriculum.
To support your academic research and course work, see the selected databases listed below. They include a mixture of general and subject and offer peer-reviewed articles as well as additional periodical formats. NOTE: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.
For a complete listing of the databases offered through the NSU Libraries organized by subject or listed alphabetically visit:
The following six publications and others are available online via the NCTE website. To locate the John Vaughan Library's (Tahlequah) print version, use the Advanced Search option through the Library Discovery system and search by title, set limiters for format to journal and library to Northeastern State University. The catalog record has the Access online option available for the electronic version.
Additional titles about books and book reviews: