The NSU Libraries use the Library of Congress (LC) Classification System for the Main Collection. This organizational system uses a combination of letters and numbers to shelf items according to the same subject.
See the examples in the boxes above and click on the link below to learn more.
Use the search box above to search the NSU Libraries' Discovery System.
Here are some of the subject headings used in the catalog:
The NSU Libraries share resources, so if there's an item you want from another campus, let us know and we'll transport it to the campus you need! For FREE!
InterLibrary Loan is available free of charge in which books and copies of articles can be borrowed from other libraries. Allow approximately two weeks for interlibrary loan requests to be received.
The Y Collection consists of fiction and nonfiction books for children and adolescents.
The Youth Collection (or Y Collection) is located on the 2nd floor of both the John Vaughan Library and the Broken Arrow Library. The nonfiction portion of the Y Collection uses the Dewey Decimal Classification System to orient pre-service teachers with how items are typically organized in school libraries. The collection supports the children's literature curriculum and provides fiction and nonfiction books for recreational readers ranging from emergent readers through young adults. We have a variety of award-winning titles of picture books, chapter books, graphic novels, biographies, and more! Whether reading for pleasure, needing a title to take into the classroom, or wishing to share with a student in a tutoring session, search for Y Collection books via NSU Library Discovery or come by to browse the stacks.
If you have questions about the Y Collection, please reach out to one of the librarian specialists for this area.
Feel free to use the helpful links below to learn more about children's and young adult literature. Please note all links open in the same window.