LibGuides: English 4623/5723 Romantic Poetry: Articles/Databases

Search Help

For search tips on how to perform database searching and tips on how to search Google, look for the "Search Tips" page under the Articles/Databases tab.

Remote Access to Library Resources
If you are accessing NSU Library databases remotely or off-campus, this page will assist you with answers to frequently asked questions

Biography Databases

When searching for an author's biographical information try some of the databases listed below.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Gale)
This database indexes more than 15 million individuals, living and deceased, covered in more than 1700 biographical reference sources.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.

Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Something About the Author (Gale Literature)
provides electronic access to all volumes of Something About the Author and Something About the Author: Autobiography Series. This critically acclaimed series spotlights more than 12,000 individuals in entries that typically cover personal life, career, writings, adaptations, and additional sources. Autobiographical essays average about 10,000 words and discuss the author's career, interests and motivation, among other topics.

Selected Databases

To begin your academic research in support of your course work, see the selected databases listed below. They represent our general databases and are a mixture of free access and subscription databases. Some offer peer-reviewed articles as well as additional periodical formats. Please note: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
Humanities Full Text
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.
JSTOR Understanding Series - Shakespeare
Collaborative project between JSTOR and Folger Shakespeare Library that allows users to search the text of Shakespeare's plays, and to navigate into the scholarship written about the plays—line by line.
JSTOR Understanding Series
The JSTOR Understanding Series is a free resource and research tool from JSTOR Labs connecting primary texts with journal articles and book chapters. It expands on Understanding Shakespeare and includes works of British Literature, and the King James Bible
MasterFILE Reference eBook Subscription
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
MLA International Bibliography
Contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history and more.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Source
Comprehensive collection of full text poetry, short stories, biographies, and authoritative essays on topics like poetic forms, movements, and techniques

For a complete listing of the databases offered through the NSU Libraries organized by subject or listed alphabetically visit:

News and Newswires

Oklahoman Archives

ProQuest News and Newspapers

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

English 4623/5723 Romantic Poetry: Articles/Databases

General vs. Subject Databases

Search Help

Biography Databases

Selected Databases

News and Newswires

WorldCat