SOWK 5463 Practice in Rural Health/Behavioral Health Settings: Academic Writing

"They Say / I Say" shows that writing well means mastering some key rhetorical moves, the most important of which involves summarizing what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). In addition to explaining the basic moves, this book provides writing templates that show students explicitly how to make these moves in their own writing.

Take Charge of Your Writing--and Dazzle Your Instructors! It can be a challenge to achieve writing excellence, but it doesn't have to be mysterious, and it's definitely not impossible. To present powerful ideas effectively in your college essays, you need to break away from rigid rules and structures and start thinking on the page. With this book, you'll learn how to actively engage with a text, analyze it, draw informed conclusions, and then make solid claims about what you have observed. Thinking on the Page will also help you: Think critically about what you're reading and draw questions and ideas directly from the text Approach your essay as a story rather than a formula Work through your ideas by graphing, listing, charting, and drawing Incorporate relevant outside research Edit your final essay and polish it to perfection Whether you're in college or high school, you need to communicate your ideas effectively through writing. Thinking on the Page provides innovative tools tailored to the way you learn and write, enabling you to produce thoughtful, analytical, and meaningful work, both in school and beyond.

This book provides a foundation and framework to enhance your understanding of the various processes involved in academic writing. The term, academic writing, here refers to the types of writing used in college level writing courses at both the undergraduate and graduate level. However, this book was not written simply to help you pass another English class or to get you through the next writing intensive course (although it will certainly do that). At some point you will be out in the real world (hopefully). Thus, the purpose of this book is to enable you to be an effective writer and thinker in all contexts including your personal and professional lives.

*This book is in the reference section of the library.

Tech-savvy and student-friendly, The Bedford Researcher addresses the kinds of writing students actually do and the kinds of sources they actually use, from multimodal projects and oral presentations to Web sites and digital databases. The Bedford Researcher strips away the complexities of research writing and offers the practical help students need to write with confidence while integrating electronic sources and tools into each stage of the process. The new fourth edition strengthens students’ grasp of the arguments at the core of their sources, helping them navigate the world of academic research writing. Order Smart Search Tutorials packaged with The Bedford Researcher, Fourth Edition using ISBN-13: 978-1-4576-3168-9.

WRITING WITH STYLE: APA STYLE FOR SOCIAL WORK, Fourth Edition, applies a proven 'learning through modeling' approach to help students master the elements of writing research papers and other professional documents in APA style. In addition to reviewing APA style basics, the text includes numerous writing exercises to help students apply what they learn and hone their skills by practicing writing professional literature. Further support is provided through resources such as sample outlines, title pages, abstracts, and numerous templates included throughout the text as references.

High school students, two-year college students, and university students all need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper--and for decades Kate Turabian's Student's Guide to Writing College Papers has helped them to develop this critical skill. In the new fourth edition of Turabian's popular guide, the team behind Chicago's widely respected The Craft of Research has reconceived and renewed this classic for today's generation. Designed for less advanced writers than Turabian's Manual of Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition, Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams here introduce students to the art of defining a topic, doing high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging and solid college paper. The Student's Guide is organized into three sections that lead students through the process of developing and revising a paper. Part 1, "Writing Your Paper," guides students through the research process with discussions of choosing and developing a topic, validating sources, planning arguments, writing drafts, avoiding plagiarism, and presenting evidence in tables and figures. Part 2, "Citing Sources," begins with a succinct introduction to why citation is important and includes sections on the three major styles students might encounter in their work--Chicago, MLA, and APA--all with full coverage of electronic source citation. Part 3, "Style," covers all matters of style important to writers of college papers, from punctuation to spelling to presenting titles, names, and numbers. With the authority and clarity long associated with the name Turabian, the fourth edition of Student's Guide to Writing College Papers is both a solid introduction to the research process and a convenient handbook to the best practices of writing college papers. Classroom tested and filled with relevant examples and tips, this is a reference that students, and their teachers, will turn to again and again.