Skip to Main Content

ENGL - Short Stories: Search Tips

Database Search Tips

1. Be prepared with synonyms in case your original search produces no results. If the database offers a link to a thesaurus or subject terms tab, use it to locate additional or related words for your search terms.

2. Pay attention to search tips or help screens provided by each database. Take the time to learn how to use the tool - it will help you to avoid frustration!

3.  Remember that most databases allow for Boolean Searching (see the video in this guide).  Use and to narrow, or to expand, not to exclude.  Truncation is also useful for bringing back all relevant results.  For example, type counsel* to bring back documents containing the words counsel, counseling, counselor...

4. Review the database search screen for a Thesaurus or Subject Terms tab or link.

5. Review articles, the references with this article, look for sections listing key words or subject terms, and relationships to your focus on the topic.

Limiters

Depending on the database, it may offer a variety of ways to limit your results:

  • Full Text
  • Scholarly or Peer Reviewed
  • Publication  or Document Type (journal articles, book reviews, reports)
  • Published Date

For articles that are not available in full text, use the InterLibrary Loan service.

Publications/Journals

Many databases offer a tab called "Publications" where one can enter a title or a keyword or subject term and locate the journals relating to this subject area.

 
For example, in the OmniFile Full Text Mega database, it offers the Publications tab and when the term drama is entered into the Browse box and using the By Subject & Description selection, over 30 periodicals relating to drama will display. You can select to search by journal or select multiple journals and add to the search. 

More Database Searching Tips

For remote access to search databases, you may be prompted for your NSU userID and password. From the NSU Libraries' home page underneath the Research section located on the left side of the page click on the link "Articles and Databases." This displays a listing of databases from general to those listed by subject field or discipline. Or try the Database A-Z link, which lists our databases in alphabetical order.

 If uncertain about which database to use, begin by choosing a general database like Academic Search Premier or you can always click the "Ask a Librarian" link for assistance.

For additional assistance after selecting a database, review the database Help screens for suggestions in using the database effectively. To locate only full-text articles, look for the full-text limiter and check the box. For articles that are not available in full-text format in our print collections or online through our databases, use the InterLibrary Loan service.

For descriptions of the EBSCO databases, see EBSCOhost. You may also select and search multiple EBSCO databases simultaneously (see the tutorial on the right-hand side of this page). Some journals contain biographical content and criticism articles.For biographical information, search by author's name (ex: Porter, Katherine Anne and biography); search by author's name and title of story for articles. If the title is phrasal, such as "The Jilting of Granny Weatherall" by Katherine Anne Porter, place the title inside quotation marks. In the database search box, type: Porter and "The Jilting of Granny Weatherall " to locate information about this story.

When using the Literature Resource Center database, 

choose the option "Person-By or About" and enter the author's name and limit the content type to biographies. For the information about a particular work or title, choose the option "Name of Work" and enter the title of the short story.

 

Controlled Vocabulary

Most databases use a controlled vocabulary to organize information and make browsing more efficient and specific to chosen terms. When building your search string, consider keywords, synonyms or related terms.  Here are some keyword terms/phrases relating to "short stories."

Short
Short Stories
Short Story
Science Fiction Short Stories

Keyword: Short
short
short action stories
short and free books
short and free books for kids
short and profane
short and scary
short and sexy
short and shivery
short and sweet
short and twisted
short article
short babysitter sex stories
short biographies
short biography for kids
short biography for kids free
short books
short books for girls
short books for kids
short books for teens
short bus
short business stories
short chapter books
short chapter books for free
short chapter books for kids
short childrens books
short circuit
short classics
short comings
short course baking
short crime stories
short cuts
short daily devotions
short detective stories
short dog stories
short dresses
short eroctic tales
short erotika
short erotika for women free
short erotika romance
short erotika stories
short erotika stories for women
short erotika stories free
short erotika tales
short essays
short eyes
short fantasy stories
short fat chick to marathon runner
short fat wisdom
short fiction
short film
short forever
short free books
short free books kids
short free sex stories
short fuses
short game
short game bible
short game golf
short ghost stories
short ghost stories free
short girl books
short girls
short guide to a happy dog
short guide to writing about art
short guide to writing about film
short history
short history of myth
short history of nearly everything
short history of nearly everything
short history of the world
short history of women
short horror
short horror collections
short horror stories
short horror stories free
short inspiring stories
short introduction
short introduction quantum
short introduction series
short jokes
short kid books for free
short kid stories
short kid stories free
short kids book
short lesbian stories
short life
short life of bree tanner
short lived
short love stories
short love stories free
short man
short meditations
short men
short message
short mysteries
short mystery stories
short nights
short nights of the shadow
short nights of the shadow catcher
short nights of the shadow catcher
short nights of the shadow catcher the epic life and immortal photographs of edward curtis
short nights of the shadow dancer
short nonfiction books
short not sweet
short not sweet by mugsy russo
short notes on long comics
short novels
short of a picnic
short of breath
short of forever
short office sex stories
short order daddy surprise billionaire
short paranormal romance
short plays
short poems
short poems for christmas
short poems free
short prayers
short prose reader
short quiksilver
short reads
short regency
short romance
short romance books
short romance free
short romance stories
short romance stories free
short romantic stories
short sex stories
short sex stories
short stories
short stories
short stories collections
short stories collections
short stories for children
short stories for kids
short stories free
short stories free
short stories kindle
short stories kindle
short stories romance
short story writing
short straw bride
short straw bride
short takes
short tales of horror
short teen books
short teen stories
short tempered
short term missions
short term stock
short term trading
short term trading strategies that work
short timers
short usb cable
short vampire love story
short victorious war
short vowel
short walks from bogota
short western romance
short western stories
short women
short work
short xlr cable
short young adult fiction
short zombie stories
shorthand
shorthand
shortwave
shortwave radio
shorty rossi

Keyword: Short Stories
short stories
short stories
short stories about animals
short stories about sex
short stories about tiny tasks
short stories about women
short stories alice munro
short stories american
short stories anthology
short stories best
short stories best sellers
short stories by anton chekhov
short stories by edgar allen poe
short stories by ernest hemingway
short stories by latin american women
short stories by maupassant
short stories by stephen king
short stories by willa cather
short stories by women
short stories children
short stories christian romance
short stories classic
short stories collection kindle
short stories collections
short stories collections
short stories collections for kids
short stories collections free
short stories collections mystery
short stories collections single author
short stories comedy
short stories december
short stories edgar allan poe
short stories edith wharton
short stories ernest hemingway
short stories erotika
short stories fantasy
short stories for children
short stories for children
short stories for girls
short stories for kids
short stories for kids
short stories for kids kindle
short stories for kindle
short stories for short trips
short stories for teens
short stories for teens
short stories free
short stories free
short stories free for kids
short stories gay
short stories german
short stories ghost
short stories hemingway
short stories historical romance
short stories horror
short stories horror
short stories hot
short stories humor
short stories in french
short stories in german
short stories in spanish
short stories india
short stories inspiration
short stories james joyce
short stories kids
short stories kids free
short stories kindle
short stories kindle
short stories kindle books
short stories kindle books free
short stories kindle free
short stories kindle romance and sex
short stories lesbian
short stories literary fiction
short stories literature
short stories maberry
short stories maeve binchy
short stories mark twain
short stories maugham
short stories mystery
short stories mystery
short stories mythology
short stories new yorker
short stories o henry
short stories of fyodor dostoyevsky
short stories of henry james
short stories of ray bradbury
short stories of sci fi
short stories of sex
short stories of the civil rights movement
short stories of the sea
short stories of tolstoy
short stories old and new
short stories paranormal romance
short stories romance
short stories romance
short stories romance free
short stories sailing
short stories saunders
short stories sci fi
short stories sci fi funny
short stories science fiction
short stories series
short stories sex
short stories single author
short stories stephen king
short stories teen
short stories thriller
short stories thriller collection
short stories tolstoy
short stories vampire
short stories writing
short stories young adult
short stories youth

Keyword: Short Story
short story
short story
short story america
short story america anthology
short story anthology
short story anthology
short story books
short story classics
short story classics
short story classics american
short story classics american vol. 1
short story collections
short story collections
short story collections for kids
short story collections kindle
short story collections kindle
short story competition
short story compilation
short story december
short story ebooks
short story fantasy
short story for kids
short story free
short story free
short story ghost
short story horror
short story ideas
short story jamal pritchard
short story kindle books
short story knitting
short story literature
short story masterpieces
short story mysteries
short story mysteries
short story of nearly everything
short story paranormal
short story philosophy
short story plot
short story press
short story press
short story princess
short story romance
short story romance
short story sci-fi
short story science fiction
short story series
short story sex
short story singles
short story structure
short story telling
short story theories
short story thrillers
short story write
short story writers
short story writing
short story writing
short story writing a practical treatise on the art of the short story
short story young adult

Keyword: Science Fiction Short Stories
science fiction short stories
science fiction short stories collections
science fiction short stories free
science fiction short stories kindle
science fiction short stories kindle books

Combine or group terms or concepts using the Boolean operator "AND" to refine your search string:  short story AND 20th century or try the search string:  short story AND criticism . Check to see if the database offers a Thesaurus or a Subject Terms tab or link. For instance, the database Academic Search Premier offers a "subject terms" tab. 

Boolean Operators Tutorial

Searching Multiple Databases

YouTube video created by NSU Libraries on how to search multiple EBSCOhost databases simultaneously. 

Searching in EBSCO

Peer-Review Tutorial