American History Since 1877: Books

To check out items at NSU Libraries, the Information Desk is located on the 1st floor, north entrance of the John Vaughan Library. The Information Desk contact phone number is 918-444-3235. 

Undergraduate Loan Periods for check out items:
Three Weeks - for items from the Main Collection, Y Collection, Government Publications, and Curriculum Materials
One Week - for Audio Visual items (CDs or DVDs)
Library Use only - Periodicals, Newspapers, Magazines, and Reference materials
Special Collections' items are non-circulating and must be used in Special Collections
Reserve Collection - Varies (check with the Information Desk for specifics)

Number of items that can be checked out at one time:
Undergraduate Students: 15

Print Limits:
Students are provided a 100 page print limit in the library at the start of each semester. Any additional pages can be purchased at the Information Desk.

NSU Libraries use the Library of Congress classification system for the following library collections:

Circulating Collections

• Curriculum Materials
• Main Collection

Non-circulating Collections

• Periodicals
• Reference Collection
• Special Collections

American History is organized under "E."

• E11-143 - America
• E51-73 - Pre-Columbian America. the Indians
• E75-99 - Indians of North America
• E81-83 - Indian Wars
• E99 - Indian Tribes and Cultures
• E151-179 - United States - General, sources and documents, historiography, biography, and historical geography
   
• F1-975 - United States Local History 

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books, dvds, and articles) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

The following items are in eBook form and linked through the NSU Libraries Discovery system. Click on the "View eBook" icon in record to access it. If you are off campus, you will be prompted to enter your NSU ID number and Password.