LibGuides: English Freshman Comp I: Articles/Databases

Databases by Title and Subject

Browse databases by subject or title using the links below.

General Databases

ABI/Inform Global
This database delivers over 1,800 journals, with more than 1,200 available in full-text. It covers a variety of business-related subject areas including financial, pharmaceuticals, manufacturing and more.
Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
AD* Access
Thousands of U.S. and Canadian print advertisements from 1911-1955
Associates Programs Source
Associates Programs Source is a database designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students. Providing hundreds of full-text journals, it covers the most relevant subjects for associates programs. Subjects Include alcohol and drug abuse counseling, biotechnology, computer and data processing, cosmetology, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, fire science, forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement and criminal justice, travel and tourism, and veterinary assisting.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Subscription
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
NewsBank
Consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, Web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history and more.
ProQuest
Provides tools for discovery and citation management and platforms that allow library users to discover, manage, use and share research gained from authoritative content. Total content, including dissertations and theses, ebooks, newspapers, periodicals, historical collections, governmental and cultural archives and other aggregated databases is estimated at over 125 billion digital pages.
ScienceDirect
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.

General and Subject Databases

General databases are considered multi-disciplinary databases, meaning they provide information for many subject areas. Examples of some general databases through NSU are ABI Inform, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, MasterFile Premier, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ProQuest, Salem Press Titles, or WorldCat. These databases provide a starting point for research, especially when working with a variety of topics.

Subject databases are designed to provide information for a particular subject area. For example, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Full Text, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, ERIC, or Education Full Text.

When searching for information, try using the general databases as well as those in your subject area.

Subject Databases

EBSCOhost eBook Collection
EBSCO’s extensive collection of eBook and audiobook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience—with every search, relevant eBook and audiobook titles will appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of your library’s offerings and increasing usage and visibility of your library’s entire collection.
JSTOR Understanding Series - Shakespeare
Collaborative project between JSTOR and Folger Shakespeare Library that allows users to search the text of Shakespeare's plays, and to navigate into the scholarship written about the plays—line by line.
Literature (Gale)
Provides combined access to Literature Criticism Online (10 multidisciplinary series) and to Literature Resource Center.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.

Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Oxford English Dictionary
English language dictionary.
Poetry & Short Story Reference Source

Comprehensive collection of full text poetry, short stories, biographies, and authoritative essays on topics like poetic forms, movements, and techniques
Salem Press Titles
Provides access to a growing number of literary reference works both in traditional, printed form and online.

Featured Databases

Academic Video Online (AVON)

Alexander Street video includes documentaries, feature films, interviews, performances, news programs, and newsreels, skills-based training video, demonstrations, and more. Patrons will find many award-winning films.
History Commons
Provides access to archived historical information with diverse materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
In-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues.
Films On Demand

A comprehensive, curriculum-focused video collection. Offers features to assist faculty, students, and libraries.
Humanities Full Text
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Covers different views on today's current events and social issues, from capital punishment to immigration, to marijuana.

Library Instructor

Courtney Helm

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

Office: 213c

(918) 444-3266

Biography Databases

When searching for an author's biographical information try some of the databases listed below.