CHEM 4531 - Experimental Physical Chemistry: Useful Databases

The Publications Division of the American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most-cited, peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences.

ACS Publications publishes more than 40 journals, Chemical & Engineering News, C& EN Archives, ACS Legacy Archives, and the ACS Symposium Series via its award-winning web-based platform. ACS journals are #1 in citations or Impact Factor in the seven chemistry categories as well as nine additional categories.

ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 100 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from hundreds of high-quality data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

The expanded version of the CINAHL index, CINAHL Plus provides an even wider scope of nursing and allied health journals, as well as a higher number of records, full-text and cited references. Content includes additional allied health literature and biomedical resources and records date back to 1937. In addition, CINAHL Plus provides Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline treatment options.

Provides access to full-text articles from a wide range of important publications—from specialized to general interest periodicals—on science-related questions. Featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information, this is a must-have resource for science research.

General Science Full Text covers a wide array of science-related topics including astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, conservation, environment,genetics, physics, physiology, zoology and much more.

This resource provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry and many more.

This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history and more.

Provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. PubChem is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. More information about using each component database may be found using the links in the homepage.

MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s bibliographic database/article index that contains over 20 million references to journal articles. Coverage is from 1949 to the present. Over 5200 journals worldwide in over 37 languages are indexed. Covered are basic biomedical research and the clinical sciences, including clinical medicine, public health, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health and pre-clinical sciences as well as life sciences that are important to practitioners and researchers – biology, environmental science, biophysics, chemistry and plant & animal science.

A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from nearly 2,500 journals and more than 30,000 books.

Use this link to set up the initial SciFinder account. Registering with an NSU e-mail address is required. Access to SciFinder following registration may be delayed by as much as 24 hours.

A group of databases covering chemicals and drugs, diseases and the environment, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology.

This database delivers over 1,800 journals, with more than 1,200 available in full-text. It covers a variety of business-related subject areas including financial, pharmaceuticals, manufacturing and more.