Skip to Main Content

English Freshman Comp I-Defining Media: Articles/Databases

General vs. Subject Databases

General databases are also considered multi-disciplinary databases, meaning they provide information for many subject areas. Examples of some general databases through NSU are ABI Inform, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, MasterFile Premier, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ProQuest, Salem Press Titles, or WorldCat. These databases provide a starting point for research, especially when working with a variety of topics.

Subject databases are designed to provide information for a particular subject area. For example, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Full Text, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, ERIC, or Education Full Text.

When searching for information, try using the general databases as well as those in your subject area. See the below link to the NSU Libraries Articles and Databases by Subject for a complete listing of databases, both general and by subject.

Search Help

For search tips on how to perform database searching and tips on how to search Google, look for the "Search Tips" page under the Articles/Databases tab.

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

Biography Databases

When searching for an author's biographical information try some of the databases listed below.

General Databases

To begin your academic research in support of your course work, see the selected databases listed below. They represent our general  databases and are a mixture of free access and subscription databases. Some offer peer-reviewed articles as well as additional periodical formats. Please note: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.

For a complete listing of the databases offered through the NSU Libraries organized by subject or listed alphabetically visit: