Depending on the database, it may offer a variety of ways to limit your results:
For articles that are not available in full text, use the InterLibrary Loan service.
Most databases use a controlled vocabulary to organize information and make browsing more efficient and specific to chosen terms. When building your search string, consider keywords, synonyms or related terms. When searching for information about an author's work, consider combining the author's name and a keyword from the work's title. As some databases may or may not have articles on your topic, consider searching multiple databases simultaneously. EBSCO offers an integrated search, which will search all of the NSU subscribed EBSCO databases at once. See video on this page for an illustration.
The Library Discovery system will search databases and the library collection as well as worldwide libraries simultaneously when using the "Everything" tab.
Combine or group terms or concepts using the Boolean operator "AND" to refine your search string: gender AND self-perception or try the search string: Pollack AND only . Check to see if the database offers a Thesaurus or a Subject Terms tab or link. For instance, the database Academic Search Premier offers a "Subject Terms" tab, and the MLA International Directory database features a "Thesaurus" tab or "Names as Subjects" tab. Enter terms in the Browsing box to see how the database recognizes them.
Example search terms:
Listed below is a sampling of periodicals with information about Women's and Gender studies. Search by publication title using the Library Discovery system's "Everything" tab and "Advanced Search" option. For additional periodicals, look for a "Publications" tab featured in many of the EBSCO databases or check the JSTOR database, "Advanced Search" for its "Journal Filter" and narrow by discipline or journal. (EX. Feminist & Women's Studies OR Gender Studies)
YouTube video created by NSU Libraries on how to search multiple EBSCOhost databases simultaneously.