Skip to Main Content

HIST 4603 - History of the New South: Historical U.S. Newspapers and Other Collections

Searching for Open Access Newspapers

To search for other open access newspaper files, try Googling combinations of terms such as newspaper or newspapers, archive or archives, edu, library, university, etc., along with the name of a state or newspaper. Since many online gateways to full text, archived newspapers are found through university library sites, including terms such as edu, university, or library should help to find them. Unfortunately, searching for full text newspaper databases outside the NSU Library will often return resources that require an institutional logon or password. On the other hand, the number of archived, open access newspaper databases is increasing as time passes.

Another approach to finding newspaper articles is to look at the notes and bibliography of a book or journal article on the topic. If the NSU Library does not provide access to a particular newspaper, request the article as a "photocopy" through interlibrary loan.

Oklahoma Newspapers on Microfilm

Daily Oklahoman on microfilm back to the turn of the 20th century (Microfilm cabinets on the Library's second floor)
Muskogee newspapers on microfilm back to the late 19th century (Special Collections)
Tulsa World on microfilm back to the early 20th century (Special Collections)

Online access to some of these titles' holdings via the links below.

Historical U.S. Newspaper Collections

This guide is designed to provide links to collections of digitized, open access, historical U.S. newspapers.

National Newspaper Collections

Individual State Newspaper Collections:

Alabama

Arizona

California

Colorado

Connecticut

Florida

Georgia

Hawaii

Idaho

Illinois

Indiana

Kansas

Kentucky

Louisaina

Maryland

Michigan

Minnesota

Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada

New Jersey

New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

Ohio

Oklahoma

Oregon

Pennsylvania

South Carolina

Texas

Utah

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia

Wisconsin

Wyoming