Skip to Main Content

HIST 4603 - History of the New South: Books

Library Accounts

To check out items at NSU Libraries, the Information Desk is located on the 1st floor, north entrance of the John Vaughan Library. The Information Desk contact phone number is 918-444-3235. 

Loan Periods for check out items:
Three Weeks - for items from the Main Collection, Y Collection, Government Publications, and Curriculum Materials
One Week - for Audio Visual items (CDs or DVDs)
Library Use only - Periodicals, Newspapers, Magazines, and Reference materials
Special Collections' items are non-circulating and must be used in Special Collections
Reserve Collection - Varies (check with the Information Desk for specifics)

Number of items that can be checked out at one time:

Undergraduate Students: 15
Graduate Students: 50

Print Limits
:

Students are provided a 100 page print limit in the library at the start of each semester. Any additional pages can be purchased at the Information Desk.
For additional information about borrowing, renewals, returns, and services, check out the Circulation link below.

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books, dvds, and articles) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

eBooks

Tip: When searching for information on topics in the database, EBSCOhost eBook Collection, use keywords or phrases. Be sure to enclose phrases inside quotation marks if you wish to keep the two terms together. The letters are not case sensitive.

Search examples for finding books in library catalogs on the history of the American South include:

  • new south
  • economic development
  • reconstruction
  • politics of the new south
  • southern economy post civil war
  • southern states (searched as a subject)
  • antebellum (searched as a keyword)
  • specific geographic locations combined with the term history and entered as a subject (for example: search Arkansas history as a subject, Arkansas politics as a subject, Arkansas social as a subject, etc.).

Library Books

Use the Library Discovery system (see the link below) to search for books by keyword, title, author, or by using the subject search option. 

Search examples for finding books in library catalogs on the history of the American South include: southern states (searched as a subject); antebellum (searched as a keyword); specific geographic locations combined with the term history and entered as a subject (for example: search arkansas history as a subject, arkansas politics as a subject, arkansas social as a subject, etc.).

If a book is not available at the NSU Library, it can be requested free of charge through interlibrary loan.

Reference Books (JVL)

The following titles can be found at the John Vaughan Library in the Reference Collection. This collection is "library use only."