Articles/Databases - HIST 3393 - Historiography and Historical Research - LibGuides at Northeastern State University

Search Help

For search tips on how to perform database searching and tips on how to search Google, look for the "Search Tips" page under the Articles/Databases tab.

Remote Access to Library Resources
If you are accessing NSU Library databases remotely or off-campus, this page will assist you with answers to frequently asked questions

WorldCat

For additional book titles not owned by NSU Libraries search the WorldCat databases. The WorldCat databases will locate items (books and more) from other libraries as well as items owned by the NSU Libraries.

WorldCat (FirstSearch)
The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses
The world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

General vs. Subject Databases

General databases are also considered multi-disciplinary databases, meaning they provide information for many subject areas. Examples of some general databases through NSU are ABI Inform, Academic Search Premier, JSTOR, MasterFile Premier, OmniFile Full Text Mega, Opposing Viewpoints in Context, ProQuest, Salem Press Titles, or WorldCat. These databases provide a starting point for research, especially when working with a variety of topics.

Subject databases are designed to provide information for a particular subject area. For example, Communication & Mass Media Complete, MLA International Bibliography, Humanities Full Text, Literature Resource Center, Something About the Author, ERIC, or Education Full Text.

When searching for information, try using the general databases as well as those in your subject area. See the below link to the NSU Libraries Articles and Databases by Subject for a complete listing of databases, both general and by subject.

Articles and Databases by Subject

Selected Databases

Accessible Archives
Provides access to archived historical information with diverse materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture.
America: History & Life
This bibliographic resource provides a robust source of information focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. Selective indexing includes over a thousand journals dating back over 55 years. This source has proved to be an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Biography & Genealogy Master Index (Gale)
This database indexes more than 15 million individuals, living and deceased, covered in more than 1700 biographical reference sources.
Chronicling America
America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922. Or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Is unmatched in its scope and breadth of historical and related social science literature, and is essential for libraries supporting upper-division and graduate research. Representing scholarship from more than 90 countries, the database includes book citations, dissertations and theses, and coverage extends to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology.
History Vault: American Indians and American West, 1809-1971
This module of the History Vault focuses on two major collections of the twentieth century, records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes. In addition to these twentieth century records, it features a number of excellent collections on American Indians in the nineteenth century, with a focus on the interaction among white settlers, the U.S. federal government, and Indian tribes.

Note to Department: The History Vault collection is a perpetual license, purchased through the Center of Tribal Studies through their grant. Our sincere gratitude to them for working with us to assist in providing resources for our community. NSU Libraries will cover the hosting fees following this year.
Humanities Full Text
This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and much more.
Indian-Pioneer Papers Collection
The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there. Consisting of approximately 80,000 entries, the index to this collection may be accessed via personal name, place name, or subject.
Indigenous Newspapers of North America
Discover North American Indigenous journalism spanning two centuries with this major digital resource. Featuring publications from a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016.

Note: Indigenous Newspapers in North America (AM) collection is a perpetual license, purchased through the Center of Tribal Studies through their grant. Our sincere gratitude to them for working with us to assist in providing resources for our community.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, & Law
Over 3,000 titles and more than 1.3 million total pages dedicated to American Indian Law. Include treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
The world’s most current, comprehensive and reliable online literature database, Literature Resource Center is uniquely relevant to today’s researcher. Its rich critical, biographical and contextual content supports interdisciplinary approaches, information literacy and the development of critical-thinking skills.

Full-text articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines are combined with critical essays, work and topic overviews, full-text works, biographies, and more to provide a wealth of information on authors, their works, and literary movements. Researchers at all levels will find the information they need, with content covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods and all parts of the world.
Marquis Who's Who
A 'high-speed', searchable online database, features comprehensive profiles on over 1.5 million of the most accomplished individuals from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports. Recognized globally since 1899 as the premier biographical data provider, Marquis Who's Who now gives you the ability to conduct powerful searches of its entire database of achievers from around the globe. Search by name, gender, occupation, geography, hobbies and interests, religion and much more.
MLA International Bibliography
Contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international, and includes titles and full-text links from J-STOR and Project Muse, Wiley-Blackwell and Taylor & Francis. This resource also contains hundreds of thousands of subject names and terms.
New York Times and Historical New York Times
New York Times newspaper (1851-Present)
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Alexander Street/ProQuest: Brings together more than 100,000 pages, many of which are previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The project integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. Essential resource for serious scholarly research into the history of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Peoples.

NSU Libraries History database listing
List links and databases about history

General Databases

Please note: for remote access to search subscription databases, you may be prompted to enter your NSU userID and password.

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
JSTOR (Journal Storage)
Containing digitized back issues of academic journals, it now also includes books and primary sources, and current issues of journals. It provides full-text searches of almost 2,000 journals. More than 8,000 institutions in more than 160 countries have access to JSTOR; most access is by subscription, but some older public domain content is freely available to anyone.
MasterFILE Reference eBook Subscription
This ebook reference collection offers a rich selection of eBook titles covering a broad range of general reference subjects. Topics include biography, history, careers, cooking, literature, genealogy, health, parenting, personal finance, politics, architecture, science, current events, social-emotional health, sports, and travel.
OmniFile Full Text Mega
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including topical coverage on ethnic studies, women's studies, history and more.
ProQuest
Provides tools for discovery and citation management and platforms that allow library users to discover, manage, use and share research gained from authoritative content. Total content, including dissertations and theses, ebooks, newspapers, periodicals, historical collections, governmental and cultural archives and other aggregated databases is estimated at over 125 billion digital pages.

For a complete listing of the databases offered through the NSU Libraries organized by subject or listed alphabetically visit:

News and Newswires

Oklahoman Archives

ProQuest News and Newspapers