ENGL 3083 - Technical Writing
Assistant Professor/Information Services Librarian
Office:
Northeastern State University - Broken Arrow
E235 Library (Broken Arrow Campus Library)
3100 E. New Orleans
Broken Arrow, OK 74014
Telephone (918) 449-6453
FAX (918) 449-6454
Email: louderba@nsuok.edu
Access:
All the resources listed below may be accessed remotely 24/7 through the links listed below.
Remote Access to NSU’s Databases at http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html
NSU Broken Arrow Library at http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html
NSU John Vaughan Library Web Page at http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html
Suggested Key-Word/ Subject Search Terms
One of the first steps in creating a research plan is to select “key words” which best describe the topic you plan to research. If you are unfamiliar with the terminology you may wish to refer to sources such as textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference resources in the field of study. Contact your instructor if you are unsure if a particular topic is appropriate. It is usually wise to make sure if you are on target with your topic before you begin to spend much time researching a project.
1.) Key terms to use individually and in combination with each other:
Medical writing
Science news
Specification writing
Technical manuals
2.) Combine key words with Boolean operators (and, or, not).
3.) Phrase terms (i.e., technical writing) can be searched by placing the phrase in quotation marks “technical writing”
Books
Print format books are available by searching the NSU Libraries Online Catalog
**Searches may be limited to just the
Electronic books
NetLibrary provides 24/7 access to over 40,000 academic books for NSU students. With NetLibrary you will need to initially access this database ON CAMPUS to set up a username and password via our account. Once you have set this up, you may access this site from any computer with Internet access.
Articles/Databases listed by subject area
Suggested Sources for Full-Text Articles:
EbscoHost: (these databases are most relevant)
Academic Search Premier:
Health Source Publications
MasterFILE Premier
Medline (Ebsco)
Professional Development Collections
PsychArticles
Psycinfo
SIRS Researcher Social, science, economy and politics
From the NSU-BA Library website there is a VERY helpful link to a Research Guide which lists books and websites about citation formats such as APA, MLA, Chicago, and Turabian.
Websites you may be interested in:
An all-purpose writers' resource and searchable database. Includes information on different markets for various writing types and genres (medical writing, poetry, e-publishing, technical writing, songwriting, screenwriting, fiction, greeting cards, business writing, research, journalism), news, author interviews, message boards, job listings, bestseller lists, writers groups, organizations, contests, conferences, and more. Browsable and searchable.
Writers and Editors: This Occupational Outlook Handbook entry
describes the nature of the work of writing and editing professionals, such as
creative writers (including bloggers), book and news editors, technical
writers, and science and medical writers. Discusses working conditions,
training requirements, job outlook, and earnings. From the
URL: http://www.bls.gov/oco/ocos089.htm
Writer's
Block: is a quarterly newsletter
that deals with technical writing and documentation.
Page maintained by: Dr. Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: September 7, 2010
