Spacer

LIBM 5513 Information Resources and Services

NSU Education Librarians - we're here to help!

Broken Arrow Campus:

Karl Siewert
Instructor of Library Services/Education Resource Coordinator

Office:
E135 (in the library)
3100 E. New Orleans | Broken Arrow, OK 74014

Telephone 6449 (449-6449)
BA Library FAX (918) 449-6454
Email: siewert@nsuok.edu

Tahlequah Campus:

Sarah Burkhead
Instructor of Library Services/Education Resource Coordinator

Office:
306B John Vaughan Library
711 N. Grand Avenue Tahlequah, OK 74464-2300

Telephone (918) 444-3262
Library FAX (918) 458-2197
Email: burkhead@nsuok.edu

Access Information

Electronic Resources

Search Tips Databases

Biography Database

Search Tips Biography

Internet Sites

Evaluating Websites Print Resources
Following APA style rules General Information for Students

Access:

Many of the resources listed on this page may be accessed remotely 24/7 through the links listed below:

Remote Access to NSU's Databases:

http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/proxy.html

Remote Access to NSU's I Drive (Instructor Drive) and L Drive (your personal storage space online) -

Web VPN

(If you've never done this before, you may want to use the Help provided at the login screen!)

NSU Broken Arrow Library:
http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html
NSU John Vaughan Library Web Page:
http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

Back to Top

Resources - If you are unfamiliar with the terminology you encounter while searching article databases (or while reading articles in journals) you may wish to refer to sources such as textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference resources in the field of study.

Online Catalogs

Search the NSU Libraries' Online Catalog: http://library.nsuok.edu/vtls.english/index.html (Use the Location pull-down menu to limit your results to Curriculum Materials or Y Collection.)

Search for E-Books using NetLibrary and/or eBrary: http://library.nsuok.edu/Refdesk/vrdbks.html

WorldCat - the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. WorldCat grows every day thanks to the efforts of librarians and other information professionals.

Journal and Magazine Article Databases

Academic Search Premier - This is a general database, which means it contains article citations and full text articles covering many academic subjects. It is one of the twenty-five databases produced by EbscoHost for which NSU has a subscription. It is probably our most widely used database and is sometimes referred to simply as "Ebsco."

ERIC - This is another database produced by EbscoHost. ERIC stands for the Educational Resource Information Center. It contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1,000 educational and education-related journals. ERIC contains a thesaurus, which can be very helpful in figuring out which search terms to use when looking for information.

Professional Development Collection - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This databasealso contains more than 200 educational reports.

Education Full Text - Part of Wilson's Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition, EFT provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks. Coverage includes 79 journals (37 with full text) not covered by ERIC's Current Index to Journals in Education. Index coverage goes back to 1983. Full text articles from 1996 to the present. Contains a thesaurus.

Library and Information Science - Part of Wilson's Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition. Set the subject area to "Library and Information Science."

Go to all EbscoHost databases

 

Back to Top of Page

Search Tips for Databases

1. Be prepared with synonyms in case your original search produces no results. Use a thesaurus if the database is equipped with one.

2. Pay attention to search tips or help screens provided by each database. Even experienced researchers (like professors and librarians!) can have trouble when dealing with a new interface. Take the time to learn how to use the tool - it will help you to avoid frustration!

3. Remember that most databases allow for Boolean Searching. Use and to narrow, or to expand, not to exlude. Truncation is also useful for bringing back all relevant results. For example, type counsel* to bring back documents containing the words counsel, counseling, counselor...

4. Take advantage of the following sources of help:

- Online tutorials

- Reference desks:
Broken Arrow - First and second floor service desk - open whenever the library is open
Tahlequah - First floor of the JVL, staffed from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on Mon - Thurs, and from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. Friday

- College of Education. Feel free to email us with a question or to schedule a one-on-one reference session.

Back to Top of Page

Biography Database

Biography and Genealogy Master Index - It indexes current, readily available reference sources, as well as the most important retrospective works that cover individuals, both living and deceased, from every field of activity and from all areas of the world. Searching Biography and Genealogy Master Index will enable you to quickly determine which publication to consult for biographical information.

Search Tips - Biography

In order to obtain the maximum number of records, make sure to check all possible forms under which a name may be listed. This is especially true in the cases of:

Names with prefixes or suffixes:

  • Angeles, Victoria De Los
  • De Los Angeles, Victoria
  • Los Angeles, Victoria De

Compound surnames:

  • Garcia Lorca, Federico
  • Lorca, Federico Garcia

Names which appear in inverted order:

  • Chiang Kai Shek
  • Kai Shek, Chiang

Names transliterated from non-Roman alphabets:

  • Hsiang, Chung-Hun
  • Xiang, Zhonghua

Pseudonyms, stage names, or nicknames:

  • Clemens, Samuel Langhorne
  • Twain, Mark
  • Crosby, Bing
  • Crosby, Harry Lillis

Initials or middle names used in place of full names:

  • Eliot, T.S.
  • Eliot, Thomas Stearns
  • Welles, George Orson
  • Welles, Orson

Back to Top of Page

Guides / Directories

Librarians' Internet Index - Librarians' Internet Index (LII) is a publicly-funded website and weekly newsletter serving California, Washington state, the nation, and the world. Every Thursday morning we send out our free newsletter, New This Week, which features dozens of high-quality websites carefully selected, described, and organized by our team of librarians. Topics include current events and issues, holidays and seasons, helpful tools for information users, human interest, and more.

TitleWave - (Follet Library Resources) - offers easy access to bibliographic information for over one million available K-Adult books & curriculum-related audiovisual titles, extensive search capibilities, full-text reviews from numerous publications, various reading level and interest indicators, and much more. You can create your own free account within the system.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory - Ulrich’s Periodicals Directory™ is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription. Our subscription allows only one user at a time! If you can't get a result right away, don't give up on it - come back later and try again!

Internet Sites

General

Alexa.com - The Web Information Company - offers site rankings, traffic reports, subject guides to reliable sites

Sites for Teachers: http://www.sitesforteachers.com/

Can Teach: http://www.canteach.ca/index.html

Search Engine Page: http://library.nsuok.edu/internet/

Children's Literature Review journals online:

American Library Association's Booklist Online: http://www.ala.org/offices/publishing/booklist/booklist_online/booklistonlinecom/booklistonline This link takes you to a page that is part of ALA's webs site & requires membership/subscription to access most content. The link is provided here so you can evaluate the site.

To access the journal content without an ALA membership or trial subscription, the journal is available online through NSU's Academic Search Premier database. To find a specific article in a known issue, use the SEARCH ONLINE JOURNALS BY TITLE function on the Libraries' home page. (Enter Booklist into the search box, click on the access link & continue clicking on the year & issue you need. Once you've "opened" an issue, you can scroll through to find the article you need.) If you are looking for unknown articles on a particular book or author, simply go into EBSCOhost's Academic Search Premier & search by book title or author name. Electronic Access through Academic Search Premier

Midwest Book Review's Children's Bookwatch: http://www.midwestbookreview.com/cbw/index.htm This is a free online database. The search box is down a bit on the page on the left side. I recommend entering the book title or author name into the search box. That will bring up a hyperlinked list of issues where that title or author appears…then use the FIND ON THIS PAGE command (under the browser's EDIT menu) and enter the search term again - that will bring you to the article on that topic.

The Horn Book, Inc.: http://www.hbook.com/category/choosing-books/reviews/ This link takes you to the publisher site & requires membership/subscription to access the majority of the reviews and magazine/guide content. This journal is available online through NSU's Academic Search Premier database. To find a specific article in a known issue, use the SEARCH ONLINE JOURNALS BY TITLE function on the Libraries' home page. (Enter Booklist into the search box, click on the access link & continue clicking on the year & issue you need. Once you've "opened" an issue, you can scroll through to find the article you need.) If you are looking for unknown articles on a particular book or author, simply go into EBSCOhost's Academic Search Premier & search by book title or author name. Electronic Access through Academic Search Premier

Kirkus Review: Electronic access through Academic Search Premier

Notes from the Windowsill: http://www.armory.com/~web/notes.html This is a free database of issues from 1993 - 1998. It contains author, title and illustrator indices; as of this date, 10/29/07, the 1993 - 1996 links are unavailable; however, the 1997 and 1998 pages work just fine.

School Library Journal.com: http://www.schoollibraryjournal.com/ Most content appears to be available (at least from on campus) using the link above, which goes to the publisher web site.

There is full text access to the journal through EBSCOhost's Academic Search Premier. Electronic Access through Academic Search Premier

Internet Sites relating to Children's Literature:

Chronicle Books: http://www.chroniclebooks.com/site/catalog/index.php?main_page=index&store=kids

The Children's Literature Web Guide: http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/index.html

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Web Site: http://www.carolhurst.com/

Award Winners:

Caldecott Medal Home Page

Newbery Medal Home Page

The Pura Belpré Award

Scott O'Dell Award for Historical Fiction

The Official Site of the Sequoyah Book Awards

Back to Top of Page

Evaluating Web sites

It's important to remember that publishing on the web is very easy - almost anyone can do it! The problem with that is knowing what's credible (worth your time) and what's not.

Here are some of the thing you want to look at or for:

the URL (.gov, .mil, .us, .edu are usually pretty credible);
links to information about the author or sponsoring organization;
links to other sites that are credible;
how current it is

Ultimately the researcher must be the one to determine whether or not to use information found on a web site. The following information from the University of California at Berkeley provides some excellent guidelines for evaluating sites:

http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/Internet/Evaluate.htm

Back to top

Print Resources

Books (not an exhaustive list - just a sampling)

John Vaughan Library, Tahlequah

Best Books for Children Call # Ref. Z1037 .G48 2002

Book Review Digest Call # Z1035.A1 C95

Book Review Index Call # Z1035.A1 B6

Books for the Journey: Guide to the world of reading Call # Z1003 .B7195 2003 (main collection)

*Children's Literature Review Call # Ref PN1009.A1 C5139

*Contemporary Authors Call # Ref. PN451 .C59

*Something About the Author Call# Ref. PN451 .S6

*Use Contemporary Authors Cumulative Index Call # Ref. PN451 .C59 Index V. 1-133 OR
the Biography and Genealogy Master Index to locate the volume that includes your author.

Broken Arrow branch library

Authors & Artists for Young Adults BA Ref. PS490 .A98 2002

Cataloging correctly for kids : an introduction to the tools Z695.1.C6 C37 2006

The children's and young adult literature handbook : a research and reference guide Z1037.A1 G475 2005

This collection is small enough that you could go browse the shelves in the Z sections (reference and book stacks)

Journals (not an exhaustive list - just a sampling)

Booklist Call # Z1035 A.39

Choice Call # Z1035 .C5

The Horn Book Magazine Call # Z1037 .A1 A15

School Library Journal Call # Z675.S3 S29115

Back to top of page

Following APA style rules

The American Psychological Association originally created a publication manual to provide a common structure for all journal manuscripts in the area of the social sciences.

Many other disciplines (including psychology, the behavioral sciences, nursing, personnel administration and many areas within education) have adopted this as their professional writing standard as well.

In an academic environment, you will often be expected to conform to this standard when writing. At this point, you should be mostly concerned with creating an accurate reference list using proper format and providing citations within the text to give credit for an idea or concept to the source from which you got it.

Print:

Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (5th ed.). (2001). Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association.

The library owns several copies of the style guide; however, only the 4th edition circulates (can be checked out). There are five copies of the 5th edition in reference and one on reserve. ( BF76.7 .P83 2001)

Citing a ReviewWebsites:

www.apastyle.org

Using APA format (Purdue University) - this comprehensive guide summarizes the print version of the book. Click on Your Reference List to find examples of the proper format to use when listing sources you used.

Quick Guide to APA Style

APA Style.org's Frequently Asked Questions

Back to Top of Page

Page maintained by: Karl Siewert siewert@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 2, 2013