ECED5903 Seminar in Early Childhood Education
|NSU Education Librarians - we're here to help!|
Broken Arrow Campus:
Telephone EXT. 6449 (918-449-6449)
Telephone (918) 444-3262
BOOKMARKS ON THIS PAGE
Resources 1- Catalogs for finding books and teaching materials
Resources 2- Library Databases & Internet Sites
Resources Part 1 If you are unfamiliar with the terminology you encounter while searching article databases (or while reading articles in journals) you may wish to refer to sources such as textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference resources in the field of study.
Library Broken Arrow
The Educator's Desk Reference : A Sourcebook of Educational Iinformation and Research (EDR) Call # BA Ref LB1028.26 .F74 1989Encyclopedia of Education, Second Ed. Vol 1 – 8. Call # BA Ref. LB15 .E47 2003
The Giant Encyclopedia of Art & Craft Activities for children 3 to 6: More than 500 art & craft activities written by teachers for teachers.Call # BA Ref. LB1139.35 .A37 G52 2000
John Vaughan Library (Tahlequah)
A Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts Call # Ref. LB 15.B29
Encyclopedia of Learning & Memory Call # Ref. BF 318.E53
The Language of Learning: A Guide to Education Terms Call # Ref. LB 15.M32
Books (BA campus)
Children achieving : best practices in early literacy Call # LB1139.5.R43 C55 1998
City Kids, City Teachers : Reports From the Front Row. Call # LC5131 .A94 1996
Early Care and Education for Children in Poverty : Promises, Programs, and Long-term Results. Call # LC4091 .E24 1998
Books (Tahlequah campus - can order through the catalog)
Building character : five enduring themes for a stronger early childhood curriculum Call # LC311 .M48 2001
Developmentally appropriate curriculum : best practices in early childhood education Call # LB1139.25 .K67 1999
(Catalogs for finding more books)
Search the NSU Libraries' Online Catalog: http://library.nsuok.edu/vtls.english/index.html
Here are some of the subject headings used in the catalog: early childhood education; education, preschool; education, primary; kindergarten; early childhood activity programs
Also, you can limit your search to curriculum materials in the catalog. Follow these steps:
1. Find and click on Advanced Keyword
2. On the Advanced Keyword search screen, use the pull-down menu to change the LOCATION from ANY to John Vaughan, Curriculum Materials
Curriculum Materials are housed in the Curriculum Materials Room on the second floor of the JV Library, and some are located in the BA Library stacks.
Search for E-Books using NetLibrary and/or eBrary: http://library.nsuok.edu/Refdesk/vrdbks.html
Journal and Magazine Article Databases
Academic Search Premier - This is a general database, which means it contains article citations and full text articles covering many academic subjects. It is one of the twenty-five databases produced by EbscoHost for which NSU has a subscription. It is probably our most widely used database and is sometimes referred to simply as "Ebsco."
ERIC - This is another database produced by EbscoHost. ERIC stands for the
Professional Development Collection - Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of more than 550 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This databasealso contains more than 200 educational reports.
Education Full Text - Part of
Sites for Teachers: http://www.sitesforteachers.com/
Can Teach: http://www.canteach.ca/index.html
Teachers' Top Sites: http://www.americanteachers.com/topsites/index.php?a_m=2
United States Department of Education: http://www.ed.gov/index.jhtml?src=a
Search Engine Page: http://library.nsuok.edu/internet/
The Internet Public Library: http://www.ipl.org/
Internet Sites relating to topics in early childhood education
Head Start Bureau : http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/hsb/hsweb/index.jsp
National Center for Early Development and Learning : http://www.fpg.unc.edu/node/4649
Reading to Kids: http://readingtokids.org/Home/main.php
ReadyWeb: A Resource for Parents and Educators: http://readyweb.crc.uiuc.edu/
It's important to remember that publishing on the web is very easy - almost anyone can do it! The problem with that is knowing what's credible (worth your time) and what's not.
Here are some of the thing you want to look at or for:
the URL (.gov, .mil, .us, .edu are usually pretty credible);
links to information about the author or sponsoring organization;
links to other sites that are credible;
how current it is
Ultimately the researcher must be the one to determine whether or not to use information found on a web site. The following information from the University of California at Berkeley provides some excellent guidelines for evaluating sites:
The American Psychological Association originally created a publication manual to provide a common structure for all journal manuscripts in the area of the social sciences.
Many other disciplines (including psychology, the behavioral sciences, nursing, personnel administration and many areas within education) have adopted this as their professional writing standard as well.
In an academic environment, you will often be expected to conform to this standard when writing. At this point, you should be mostly concerned with creating an accurate reference list using proper format and providing citations within the text to give credit for an idea or concept to the source from which you got it.
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association (5th ed.). (2001). Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association.
The library owns several copies of the style guide; however, only the 4th edition circulates (can be checked out). There are five copies of the 5th edition in reference and one on reserve. (
Using APA format (Purdue University) - this comprehensive guide summarizes the print version of the book. Click on Your Reference List to find examples of the proper format to use when listing sources you used.
Page maintained by: Karl Siewert firstname.lastname@example.org
Last Updated: July 2, 2013