
ORGANIC
CHEMISTRY (CHEM 3232)
REFERENCE COLLECTION (reference books, not for check-out) CALL NUMBER
VanNostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia Ref Q 121 .V3 2002 (v. 1-v. 2)
Hawley’s Condensed Chemistry Dictionary Ref QD 5 .C5 2001
Cassell Dictionary of Chemistry Ref QD 5 .H347 1998
ACS (American Chemical Society) Style Guide (2nd ed.) Ref QD 8.5 .A25 1997
CRC Handbook of Laboratory Safety Ref QD 51 .C73 2000
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Ref QD 65 .H3 2010/2011
Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary Ref QD 121 .D73 2007
Handbook of Inorganic Chemistry Ref QD 155.5 .P37 2003
Mosby’s Medical Dictionary Ref R 121 .M89 2006 (and 2002)
Stedman’s Medical Dictionary Ref R 121 .S8 2000
The Essential Guide to Prescription Drugs 2002 Ref RS 51 .E85 2002
PDR (Physician’s Desk Reference) Ref RS 75 .P5 2012
AHFS (Amer. Society of Health-System Pharmacists) Drug Information Ref RS 125 .A56 2002
Drug Identification Bible – (Illicit Drugs) Ref RS 190 .D77 D78 2004/2005
Merck Index Ref RS 356 .M524 2001
Lange’s Handbook of Chemistry (15th ed.) Ref TP 151 .H25 1999
All of these resources are located in the reference collection on the 2nd floor of the Broken Arrow Campus Library (on the side of the room where the circulation/reference desk is). The above books are for use in the library only – you cannot check them out.
CIRCULATING COLLECTION
(circulating books)
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Chemistry QD 5 .M36 1983
Facts on File Chemistry Handbook QD 65 .F33 2001
Chemist’s Handbook: a Handbook of Practical Data, Techniques, etc. QD 65 .G64
These titles (and more) are located in the regular circulating collection on the 2nd floor of the Broken Arrow Campus Library (on the side of the room across/furthest from the circulation/reference desk). These items are available for check-out.
DATABASES AVAILABLE THROUGH NSU
LIBRARIES (articles)
To access the below databases, go to the library’s main page (http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/), click on “Articles and Databases,” then select the “Natural Sciences and Mathematics” link.
Remember the two most important Boolean operators (AND and OR). If your searches are retrieving too many hits, try narrowing your search with AND (e.g., methylprednisolone AND synthesis). If you are getting too few, try OR (e.g., nitrazepam OR flunitrazepan).
ACS (American Chemistry Society) Publications
Medline
CINAHL
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
General Science Full Text
OmniFile Full Text Mega
And, if we do not have access to an article
you need in our print collection or online, you can always place a request with
our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) department. This service is available at no
cost to you.
WEB and OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES
ACS ChemWorx
– information a free total research management and storage system that combines reference discovery and management, professional networking, group and task management and manuscript preparation in a single interface accessible from anywhere.
ChemIDPlus
– Provides information on
390,000+ chemicals including synonyms and structures.
ChemSpider – Links together compound information across the web, providing free text and structure search access of millions of chemical structures.
Highwire -- Hosts publications from researchers, clinicians, students, and other scholars seeking the best online research from a vast database of full-text scholarly, high-impact materials. (Stanford University)
USPTO (United States Patent and Trademark Office)
Chemistry and Pharmaceuticals Searching Best Practices (Intellogist)
NSU College of Optometry Resources
General Online
Reference Sources
Chemist’s Art Gallery (animations)
College of Chemistry (at Berkeley)
UCLA Virtual Library of Chemistry
Organic Chemistry Lab Techniques (videos)
Polymer Science and Technology Interdisciplinary Research Center
Ponder Lab (Computational Chemistry and Molecular Modeling)
PLAGIARISM
When using the work of other people, always remember to
· Give credit if you use their words (quotation).
· Give credit if you use their sentiments or ideas (paraphrasing/summarizing)
· Give credit if you use their methods, techniques, or conclusions (replication/modification of prior work).
Avoid accidental plagiarism through proper citation methods.
ACS (American Chemistry Society)
STYLE GUIDE
American Chemistry Society (ACS)
EVALUATING SOURCES (some things to consider)
“Scholarly” (Peer-Reviewed) versus “Popular” Journals
Wikipedia – a great starting point.
Open web versus proprietary online databases?
Remember to ask yourself the five “Ws” – “Who, what, when, where, and why?”
REVIEW VERSUS RESEARCH
It is important to distinguish between review articles and research articles. A review article’s primary purpose is not to present new research, but to summarize, analyze, discuss, and provide an overview of previously published work on a topic. A research article is designed to present new research, methods, and/or findings. Research articles often employ the IMRAD (Introduction, Methods, Research, and Discussion) format.
The Structure, Format, Content and Style of a Journal-Style Scientific Paper (Bates College)
The IMRAD Research Paper Format (Introduction, Methods, Research and Discussion)
Reading Scientific Articles (Stanford University)
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS
CLASSIFICATION SCHEME
Class Q (Science)
Subclass QD (Chemistry)
QD 1 – QD 999 Chemistry
QD 1-65 General (including alchemy)
QD 71-142 Analytical chemistry
QD 146-197 Inorganic chemistry
QD 241-441 Organic chemistry
QD 415-436 Biochemistry
QD 450-801 Physical and theoretical chemistry
QD 625-655 Radiation chemistry
QD 701-731 Photochemistry
QD 901-999 Crystallography
Class R (Medicine)
Subclass RS (Pharmacy and materia medica)
RS 1- RS 441 Pharmacy and materia medica
RS 125-131.9 Formularies. Collected prescriptions.
RS 139-141.9 Pharmacopoeias
RS 151.2-151.9 Dispensatories
RS 153-441 Materia medica
RS 160-167 Pharmacognosy. Pharmaceutical substances (plant, animal, and inorganic)
RS 189-190 Assay methods. Standardization. Analysis
RS 192-199 Pharmaceutical technology
RS 200-201 Pharmaceutical dosage forms
RS 250-252 Commercial preparations. Patent medicines
RS 355-356 Pharmaceutical supplies
RS 400-431 Pharmaceutical chemistry
RS 441 Microscopic examination of drugs