Spacer

Investments

Commodities Corporate Finanical Information Derivatives
Industry Analysis Market Index Mutual Funds
Financial Ratio Analysis Fixed Income Securities Security Analysis
Stock Exchanges Stock Prices Other Resources

Commodities

Barron's Commodities and Futures - Get an overview of the market and compare futures.
http://online.barrons.com/mdc/public/page/9_3012.html?mod=bol_mdc_topnav_9_3012

FutureSource.com - Find more information on all futures including energy, foods, grains, metals, and more.
http://futuresource.quote.com/home.action

NASDAQ's Commodities Site
http://quotes.nasdaq.com/aspxcontent/commodities.aspx

Trading Charts and Quotes - Commodity Futures Charts & Futures Quotes
http://tfc-charts.w2d.com/menu.html

Top of Page

Corporate Financial Information

AnnualReports.com - Leading Online Provider of Annual Reports
http://www.annualreports.com/

Mergent Online - Company Reports - Find a company by company name, ticker symbol, or search for lists of companies by Primary SIC, Primary NAICS, MIC codes.
http://www.mergentonline.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/basicsearch.php

Morningstar - Get comprehensive financial information on various companies.
http://library.morningstar.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/?CustId=&CLogin=&CType=&CName

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - Industry Analysis for over 50 of the Largest Industries
Offers ready access to Standard & Poor's premium content such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports and Fund Reports.
http://www.netadvantage.standardandpoors.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/NASApp/NetAdvantage/index.do

Thomson ONE Banker - Gain access to relevant real-time global market data, news, and authoritative content from industry-leading sources. Includes key financials, ratios, as well as some interactive charts.
http://banker.thomsonib.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/ta/?expresscode=neastubasic

Value Line - Current and Historical Market and Financial Data
http://www3.valueline.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/vlac/logonexpired.aspx?returnurl=/secure/vlispdf/stk1700/index.aspx

 

Top of Page

Derivatives

Barron's Commodities and Futures - Get an overview of the market and compare futures.
http://online.barrons.com/mdc/public/page/9_3012.html?mod=bol_mdc_topnav_9_3012

FutureSource.com - Free and accurate futures commodity quotes, charts, news and other relevant information.
http://futuresource.quote.com/home.action

Options on Futures: An Introduction to Buying Options
http://www.danielstrading.com/blog/2010/12/17/options-on-futures-an-introduction-to-buying-options/

Top of Page

Financial Ratio Analysis

Investopedia.com - Financial Ratio Tutorial - The objective of this tutorial is to provide you with a guide to sources of financial statement data, to highlight and define the most relevant ratios, to show you how to compute them and to explain their meaning as investment evaluators.
http://www.investopedia.com/university/ratios/

Morningstar - Find key ratios on selected stocks.
http://library.morningstar.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/?CustId=&CLogin=&CType=&CName

Business, Industry, and Company Ratios Flash Tutorial

Books

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios: (Also known as the “Troy Almanac”)
Call number Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68 location: Reference collection NSU BA Library
Annual Statement Studies/RMA  
Call number: Ref  HF 5681 .B2 R58 location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

Top of Page

Fixed Income Securities

Investing in Bonds - An Overview - Offers valuable information, real time data, important indicators, as well as market news and commentary.
http://www.investinginbonds.com/learnmore.asp?catid=2&id=62

Municipal Market Information -

FINRA's Bond Section of the FINRA Market Data Center: The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA) provides market data information, including Corporate and Agency data.


MSRB EMMA: The Municipal Securities Rulemaking Board (MSRB) provides municipal disclosures and market data through its Electronic Municipal Market Access (EMMA) system.

Daily Treasury Yield Curve - Searchable database of treasury yield rates.
http://www.treasury.gov/resource-center/data-chart-center/interest-rates/Pages/TextView.aspx?data=yield

Yahoo! Bonds Center - An Overview - Provides information on all sorts of bonds including a handy bond lookup feature.
http://finance.yahoo.com/bonds

Top of Page

Industry Analysis

A M Best's Ratings - Independent opinions regarding the creditworthiness of an issuer or debt obligation. Best's Credit Ratings are based on a comprehensive quantitative and qualitative evaluation of a company's balance sheet strength, operating performance and business profile, or, where appropriate, the specific nature and details of a debt security.
http://www3.ambest.com/ratings/default.asp

Dun & Bradstreet Ratings - Definition and Criteria for D&B's rating system. D&B is a subscription service to which the library does not subscribe.
http://mycredit.dnb.com/glossaries/d-b-rating/

Fitch Ratings - Definition and Critera for Fitch Ratings. Fitch Ratings is a subscription service to which the library does not subscribe.
http://www.fitchratings.com/jsp/sector/Sector.faces?selectedTab=Overview&Ne=11%2b4293330943&N=0

Moody's Credit Rating - Definition and Criteria for Moody's Credit Ratings. Moody's is a subscription service to which the library does not subscribe.
http://v3.moodys.com/ratings-process/Ratings-Definitions/002002

Morningstar - Get comprehensive financial information on various companies.
http://library.morningstar.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/?CustId=&CLogin=&CType=&CName=

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) - List of NAICS codes.
http://www.naics.com/search.htm

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code List
http://www.sec.gov/info/edgar/siccodes.htm

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - Industry Analysis for over 50 of the Largest Industries - Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is the only ratings service NSU subscribes to.
http://www.netadvantage.standardandpoors.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/NASApp/NetAdvantage/index.do

Standard & Poor's Guide to Credit Rating Criteria
http://www2.standardandpoors.com/spf/pdf/media/GuidetoCreditRatingsCriteria.pdf

Top of Page

Market Index

Barron's Market Data Center - Links to U. S. Stocks, International Markets, ETFs, Mutual Funds, Bonds, Rates, Credit Markets, Commodities and Futures, Curriences, and more, from one of the leading periodical publishers in the industry.
http://online.barrons.com/data?mod=BOL_other_tnav_market

Dow Jones
http://www.dowjones.com/

Google Finance - Find links to international markets.
http://www.google.com/finance?client=news&gl=us

Futures Markets - Find links to various futures markets.
http://futuresource.quote.com/quotes/futures/home.action

International Securities Exchange - Home page of the ISE (International Securities Exchange).
http://www.ise.com/

NASDAQ
http://www.nasdaq.com/

Russell 3000 Index - The Russell 3000 Index measures the performance of the largest 3000 U.S. companies representing approximately 98% of the investable U.S. equity market.
http://www.russell.com/indexes/data/fact_sheets/us/Russell_3000_Index.asp

S&P 500 Index (Large Cap) - The index includes 500 leading companies in leading industries of the U.S. economy, capturing 75% coverage of U.S. equities.
http://www.standardandpoors.com/indices/sp-500/en/us/?indexId=spusa-500-usduf--p-us-l--

S&P MidCap 400 - The index covers the top 400 companies in the $1 billion–$10 billion range.
http://www.standardandpoors.com/indices/sp-midcap-400-growth-and-value/en/us/?indexId=spusa-400-usdufg-p-us-m--

S&P Small Cap 600 - The S&P SmallCap 600 covers approximately 3% of the domestic equities market. Measuring the small cap segment of the market that is typically renowned for poor trading liquidity and financial instability, the index is designed to be an efficient portfolio of companies that meet specific inclusion criteria to ensure that they are investable and financially viable.
http://www.standardandpoors.com/indices/sp-smallcap-600/en/us/?indexId=spusa-600-usduf--p-us-s--

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage - Industry Analysis for over 50 of the Largest Industries
Offers ready access to Standard & Poor's premium content such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports and Fund Reports.
http://www.netadvantage.standardandpoors.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/NASApp/NetAdvantage/index.do

Mutual Funds

Morningstar - Get comprehensive financial information on stocks and mutual funds.
http://library.morningstar.com.jvlapps.nsuok.edu/?CustId=&CLogin=&CType=&CName=

SEC Mutual Fund Cost Calculator - Tips for investors.
http://www.sec.gov/investor/tools/mfcc/mfcc-int.htm

Top of Page

Security Analysis

Fundamental Analysis from Investopedia - An introduction to fundamental analysis along with instructions as to how to complete a fundamental analysis.
http://www.investopedia.com/university/fundamentalanalysis/

Stock Charts - Introduction to charts along with tools for technical analysis.
http://stockcharts.com/

Technical Analysis from Investopedia - An introduction to technical analysis along with instructions as to how to complete a technical analysis.
http://www.investopedia.com/university/technical/

Top of Page

Stock Exchanges

INO.com - Links to all the major stock exchanges as well as to investing news.
http://www.ino.com/

World Stock Market Indices
http://www.world-stock-exchanges.net/indices.html

Top of Page

Stock Prices

Current

Wall Street Journal's Market Watch
http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/default.asp?siteid=&avatar=seen&dist=ctbc

Historical

Daily Finance
http://www.dailyfinance.com/historical-stock-prices/

Wall Street Journal's Market Watch
http://bigcharts.marketwatch.com/historical/

Yahoo Finance
http://finance.yahoo.com/q/hp?s=YHOO

Top of Page

Other Online Resources

All NSU Databases - includes many full-text articles.
http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html

Barron's Online - Online version of the financial periodical.
http://online.barrons.com/home-page

Business and Technology Databases - Databases subscribed to by NSU.
http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html#business

Business Source Premier -- Business Journals

ABI/Inform (Proquest) -- Business & General Journals

Business Full Text by WilsonWeb -- Business Journals

Electronic Newspapers via Newsbank and Ebscohost http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html#newspapers

Financial Ratios - Explanations of various financial ratios.
http://www.netmba.com/finance/financial/ratios/

Industry Center at Yahoo! Finance - Find top competitors in various industries.
http://biz.yahoo.com/ic/ind_index.html

Quote.com - Charts, markets, news, and more.
http://www.quote.com/home.action

SEC Law.com - The Securities Statutes, Rules, Regulations and Proposals, State and Federal
http://www.seclaw.com/secrules.htm

U. S. Securities and Exchange Commission - Laws
http://www.sec.gov/about/laws.shtml

Tulsa City-County Library's Investing for Beginners Page
http://www.tulsalibrary.org/research/investing-for-beginners.php

Wall Street Journal - the newspaper online.
Today's paper at http://online.wsj.com/home-page. Older electronic articles (not quotes)are available through ABI/Inform. Limit searches to Wall Street Journal

Wall Street Journal - Market Data Online from all the world's major markets.
http://online.wsj.com/mdc/public/page/marketsdata.html

Yahoo Newspapers by country.
http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Countries/

 

Helpful Links: Online Resources*

*(useful web sites picked by some investment experts from StockTrak)

Stocks

Back to Top
What are stocks? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fn3y1hNVgA4
Where to find stock quotes? http://finance.yahoo.com
Listing of ETFs by most active, biggest returns, etc. http://www.wallstreetsurvivor.com/Public/Research/ETFCenter.aspx
What is the Beta of a stock? http://www.zacks.com/education/articles.php?id=58
Best stock charts http://stockcharts.com/
London Stock News http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/markets/
European Stock News http://www.bloomberg.com/news/europe/
Asian Stock News http://www.bloomberg.com/news/asia/
Australian Stock News http://www.news.com.au/business/markets
What is the Dogs of the Dow Strategy http://www.dogsofthedow.com/
FDA Calendar for Biotech stocks http://www.rttnews.com/corpinfo/fdacalendar.aspx
ETF Screener http://funds.us.reuters.com/US/screener/screener.asp?reset=1

Technical Analysis

Back to Top

Options

Back to Top
Options Industry Council Education http://www.888options.com/
Best place for US option tickers http://www.cboe.com
Option Tips for Beginners http://www.optiontradingtips.com/options101/stock-options.html
Best description of ‘What is a call?’ http://www.call-options.com/what-are-call-options.html
Best description of ‘What is a put?’ http://www.call-options.com/what-are-put-options.html
Option margin requirements from CBOE http://www.cboe.com/tradtool/mcalc/default.aspx
Option Trading Strategies http://www.option-trading-guide.com/
What are binary options? http://www.cboe.com/micro/binaries/introduction.aspx
What is writing a covered call? http://www.covered-call.com/

Futures

Back to Top
CME Futures http://www.cmegroup.com/
Futures Quotes and Charts http://www.tradingcharts.com/
Best gold and silver news http://www.kitco.com/

Mutual Funds

Back to Top
Bloomberg News http://www.bloomberg.com/
CNBC General Market News http://www.cnbc.com/
Inside Scoops http://www.businessinsider.com/
Excellent Research Comments and Analysis http://seekingalpha.com/
Motley Fool http://www.fool.com/

World Stock Exchanges

Back to Top

 

Page maintained by: Dr. Pamela Louderback at louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 2, 2013