Spacer

International Marketing

Access

Articles

Newspapers

Classification Codes

Country Information

International Trade Statistics

Company Information

Oklahoma Trade Data

Reference USA (Business Phone Book)

International Yellow Pages


Gary Cheatham's International Resources Page


Getting Started:

Researching your market http:/www.tradeport.org/

NSU Broken Arrow Library Home Page http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html

NSU John Vaughan Library Home Page : http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

*Note: to search from your home computer, you need to have your NSU NT Username and password)

I. Journal Indexes (search for articles in journals and magazines on your topic)

Journal Database List http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/dblist.html

1.) Ebscohost-"Family of databases"

A.) Business Source Elite

Provides full text for over 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.

B.) Academic Search Elite

Provides full text for nearly 1,560 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education,

and much more.

C.) MasterFILE Premier

Provides full text for over 1,880 periodicals covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more.

2.) Proquest (ABI Inform)

Includes selected full text and images of a wide variety of business journals.

3.) Wilson OmniFile

Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases:

Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text

II. Newspapers (good for current events)

1.) Newspaper indexes http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html#newspapers

2). Links to several national and international newspapers.
http://www.refdesk.com/paper.html

3).Yahoo Newspapers by country:

http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Countries/

Classification Codes

North American Industry Classification (NAIC) http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

Schedule B Export Codes: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/schedules/b/

International trade codes: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/reference/codes/index.html#hts

SIC Classification Codes for products and services: http://www.bizminer.com/SIC-industry-description.asp


III. Country Information

1.) CIA World Fact Book https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.

2.) GlobalEdge http://globaledge.msu.edu/ibrd/ibrd.asp

Allows you to find information ranging from culture and economic information to Trade Tutorials, Trade Law or even Statistical Data Sources.

3.) Foreign Trade Country Commercial Guides http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/

FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need.

a.) Export.gov market research http://export.gov/mrktresearch/index.asp

Learn your product's potential in a given market, the best prospects for success, and the market's business practices.

4.)U.S. Department of State Background Notes http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn/

*As of May 2012, Background Notes are no longer being updated or produced. They are in the process of being replaced by Fact Sheets that focus on U.S. relations with each country. The link to each document from anywhere on www.state.gov or on any other site, as a bookmark, etc., will remain the same, whether it appears as a Background Note or when it is replaced by a Fact Sheet.

5.) Economist.com Country Briefings http://www.economist.com/countries/

6.) Country Studies (Library of Congress) http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

7.) Culturegrams (NSU BA Reference Collection) Call # GT 150.C85 2005

8.) CountryWatch World Review (CDROM) -- NSU BA AV Collection Call # G63.C686 2000 (ask for this product

at the Circulation desk).

A concise resource for up-to-date global information and statistics. Includes for each of the world's 191 countries: historical, political, economic, corporate and environmental background reports; demographic information including major ethnic, linguistic and religious groups; information on governmental organization and structure; chapters on defense forces and foreign relations activity; detailed political reports and lists of present government officials; biographies and photographs of highest-ranking government official; fully downloadable PDF versions of each country report; macroeconomic and key economic sector data tables for 1995-1999; environmental issues, agencies, pollution trends and international accords; digitized regional and country maps.

9.)US Commercial Service: Market Research Library http://www.buyusainfo.net/adsearch.cfm?search_type=int&loadnav=no

(Must register online as a student)

10.) Deloitte International Tax and Business Guides http://www.deloitte.com/view/en_PG/pg/insights-ideas/itbg/index.htm

11.) Price Waterhouse Cooper "Doing Business in..." Series

12.) Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Country Reports

IV. Corporate Information

1.) Mergent online http://library.nsuok.edu/Resources/Indexes/index.html

FISonline is a financial database service offering 11,000 U.S. public companies and 17,000

non-U.S. public companies. FISonline is offered to you from Mergent, Inc. -- the preferred source

for global business and financial information. Formerly known as Moody's Financial Information

Services

V. International Trade Information and Statistics

1.) Foreign Trade Statistics

http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/country/index.html

2.) Statistical Abstract of the United States http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/

3.)GLOBUS & NTDB (National Trade Data Bank) http://www.wand.com/ntdb

4.) State Export Data: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/state/index.html

5.) World Bank: Doing Business Series http://www.doingbusiness.org/downloads/

6.) Export.gov select: Export data http://www.export.gov/tradedata/index.asp

Trade data and analysis to help identify the best countries to target exporting efforts.

VI. Oklahoma Trade Statistics

1.) ) Oklahoma Department of Commerce

International Trade Offices

State Business Registration System

Here you will find the basics that apply to almost all new business start-ups, FAQs, licensing and registration, and more...

2.) Oklahoma Market Research (Including reports of top exports to foreign countries)

3.) Oklahoma Business Directory

4.) Oklahoma Oil and Gas Companies

5.) Yahoo! Directory (A complete list of business organizations in Oklahoma -- city Chambers of Commerce)

VII. International Yellow Page Listings
1.) International Yellow and White Page Listings http://www.wayp.com/

VII. International Trade Supplier and Buyer Leads
1.) Alibaba http://www.alibaba.com/

Page maintained by:Dr. Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 1, 2013