Spacer

Comparative Business Analysis

Access

Journal Articles

Newspapers

Company Information Financial Ratio Analysis Industry Analysis

Other Online Resources


Getting Started:

NSU Broken Arrow Library Home Page http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html

NSU John Vaughan Library Home Page : http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

*Note: to search from your home computer, you need to have your NSU NT Username and password)

Journal Indexes (search for articles in journals and magazines on your topic)

Articles and Databases at http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html

1.) Ebscohost-"Family of databases"

A.) Business Source Elite

Provides full text for over 1,060 journals covering business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and much more.

B.) Academic Search

Provides full text for nearly 1,560 journals covering the social sciences, humanities, general science, multi-cultural studies, education,

and much more.

2.) Proquest (ABI Inform)

Includes selected full text and images of a wide variety of business journals.

3.) Wilson OmniFile

Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases:

Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text

Newspapers (good for current events)

Wall Street Journal -The Wall Street Journal is one of the leading daily business newspaper publications available in the United States. Its various sections cover current business and industry information as well as daily quotes of stocks, bonds, mutual funds, interset rates, and other financial instruments.

  • Current Issues in print: Available on the NSU BA Library first floor Browsing Collection.
  • Older Electronic articles (not quotes) : Available through ABI Inform (Limit searches to Wall street Journal)

1.) Newsbank and Ebscohost Newspapers(on the newspapers page)-includes full text articles from several national newspapers. http://library.nsuok.edu/newspapers/index.html

2).Yahoo Newspapers by country:

http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Countries/

Corporate Financial Information

1.) Mergent online

Mergent provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items.

Mergent Online offers access to Wall Street consensus earnings estimates on all companies in the database followed by at least one Wall Street analyst. Mergent's company files also provide access to EDGAR® filings dating back to 1993 and updated daily.

Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information


2.) Thomson Analytics Excellent tool for researching peer corporations within predetermined or customizable peer groups.


3.) Valueline

4.) Morningstar

5.) Annual reports from Annualreports.com free online annual reports to shareholders for most major US corporations.

Industry Analysis


Standard and Poor’s (NetAdvantage)
Online version of the Standard and Poors Surveys and Corporate Records
Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys are the fastest way to come up to speed on the players and events impacting over fifty (50) of the largest North American and global industries. Ideal for management consultants, strategic planners, money managers, public and academic librarians, students, and business faculty; Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys enable readers to think and act like industry insiders.

Each report is authored by a Standard & Poor's industry research analyst and includes the following sections: Current Environment, Industry Trends, How the Industry Operates, Key Industry Ratios and Statistics, How to Analyze a Company, Glossary of Industry Terms, Additional Industry Information References and Comparative Company Financial Analysis.


Credit Ratings Explained

Manufacturing & Distribution USA:

Call Number: Ref HD 9721.M3495 2003 3 volumes

Location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

Financial Ratio Analysis

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios: (Also know as the “Troy Almanac”) Call number Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68 location : Reference collection NSU BA Library

Annual Statement Studies/RMA

Call number: Ref HF 5681 .B2 R58

Location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

Other Online Resources

U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission : http://www.sec.gov/

Industry Center : Yahoo Finance: http://biz.yahoo.com/ic/ind_index.html

Page maintained by: Dr. Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 1, 2013