Spacer

Business Strategy and Policy Career Analysis

Getting Started

Journal Indexes and Articles

Newspapers

Classification Codes

 

Statistical Sources

Company Information

Economic Indicators

Competitive Industry Analysis

 Other Useful Resources


Gary Cheatham’s Instruction Page

Getting Started:

NSU Broken Arrow Library Home Page http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html

NSU John Vaughan Library Home Page : http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

*Note: to search from your home computer, you need to have your NSU NT Username and password.

top

Journal Indexes (search for articles in journals and magazines on your topic)

NSU Databases Arranged By Subject

NSU Databases Arranged by Title

Searching for Trend Information in Journal Databases

1.) Trends in demography, culture, technology and politics impact the business environment in which business seek to operate.

Within these database, publications such as Brandweek, and Advertising Age are excellent resources for locating various trends. Be sure to incorporate into your search such terms as:

trend* (i.e., social trend*)

new development*

prediction*

forecast*

as well as related terms

Business literature is an excellent source for locating and identifying various trends. Consult some of the following online journal databases:

1.) Ebscohost-"Family of databases"

A.) Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

B.) Academic Search Premier

Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals.

C.) MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.

2.) Proquest (ABI Inform)

Includes selected full text and images of a wide variety of business journals.

3.) OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson)

Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases:

Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text.

Contents includes: full text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994.

top

Newspapers (good sources for current and local events and topics)

Wall Street Journal -The Wall Street Journal is one of the leading daily business newspaper publications available in the United States. Its various sections cover current business and industry information as well as daily quotes of stocks, bonds, mutual funds, interset rates, and other financial instruments.

  • Current Issues in print: Available on the NSU BA Library first floor Browsing Collection.

Older Electronic articles (not quotes) : Available through ABI Inform (Limit searches to Wall street Journal)

1.) Newsbank and Ebscohost Newspapers(on the newspapers page)-includes full text articles from several national newspapers.
http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html#newspapers

2).Yahoo Newspapers by country:

http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Countries/

top

Classification Codes

North American Industry Classification (NAIC) http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

Schedule B Export Codes: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/schedules/b/

International trade codes: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/reference/codes/index.html#hts

SIC Classification Codes for products and services: http://www.bizminer.com/SIC-industry-description.asp

top

Corporate Financial Information

1.) Mergent online

Mergent provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items.

Mergent Online offers access to Wall Street consensus earnings estimates on all companies in the database followed by at least one Wall Street analyst. Mergent's company files also provide access to EDGAR® filings dating back to 1993 and updated daily.

Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information

2.) Thomson One BankerExcellent tool for researching peer corporations within predetermined or customizable peer groups.

3.) Valueline

4.) Morningstar

5.) Annual reports to shareholders are available through Mergent online or from
Annualreports.com free online annual reports to shareholders for most major US corporations.

6.) Mission Statements/ Values Statements, etc. These items are usually found on the corporation’s web site. At other times, these

Items are found in annual reports to shareholders or other official documents.

top

Statistical Sources

1.) US Census Bureau Business and Economic Statistics http://www.census.gov/%22career guide to industries%22

2.) American Fact Finder at http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/nav/jsf/pages/index.xhtml

3.) Statistical Abstract of the United Sates: http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/

top

Employment and Career Information: Bureau of Labor Statistics

BLS Publications Homepage: http://www.bls.gov/emp/#publications

As of February 2014, the Bureau of Labor Statistics has discontinued publication of the Career Guide to Industries as an independent product. The BLS website has data on current and projected occupational employment within industries and current and projected industry employment by occupation. The Occupational Outlook Quarterly (OOQ) occasionally publishes articles on industries. Search the OOQ index for industry-related information.

Occupational Outlook Handbook

For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you:

  • the training and education needed
  • earnings
  • expected job prospects
  • what workers do on the job
  • working conditions
  • source: BLS

Occupational Outlook Quarterly: http://www.bls.gov/opub/ooq/ooqindex.htm for a listing of charts, earnings, education/training, and outlooks/trends

List of Standard Ocupational Classifications: http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_stru.htm for a listing of occupational employment statistics

Career Onestop: http://www.careerinfonet.org/industry/Ind_State.aspx?id=8&nodeid=10 your OneStop for career information and as a pathway to career success

Economic Indicators

1.) Economic Indicators concerning the United States economy can be located at the following sites:

a.) Economic Indicators. gov Economic Indicators.gov is brought to you by the Economics and Statistics Administration at the U.S. Department of Commerce.

It provides timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.

b. ) Federal Reserve Statistics

Other Statistica Sites - United States

Bureau of Economic Analysis, U.S. Department of Commerce
Covers a wide variety of economic indicators at the national, international, regional and industry levels, including: Gross Domestic Product(GDP), Personal income, Balance of Trade, and an overview of the U.S. Economy.
Economic Indicators Briefing Room from the U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau releases statistics that provide monthly, quarterly and yearly updates on key measures of the nation's economic condition. Upcoming releases include quarterly financial report - retail trade, new residential construction and new residential sales. Gives the latest releases and schedule and historical statistics.Includes Trade Balance information, durable goods, monthly wholesale trade among others.
Bureau of Labor Statistics. U.S. Department of Labor
Detailed releases of a wide variety of economic statistics including: Consumer Price Index (CPI), productivity, consumer spending, wages and earnings, employment/unemployement, inflation among others.
Survey of Current Business
Bureau of Economic Analysis monthly journal presents summary estimates and analyses of U.S. economic activity. Includes the "Business Situation," a review of recent economic developments, regular and special articles about the national, regional, and international economic accounts and related topics. Latest estimates of the national income and product accounts every month.
Federal Reserve Board -Statistical Releases
Various statistical releases such as: foreign exchange rates, interest rates, commercial paper, banks, flow of funds, etc. Daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly and annual statistics both current and historical
Economic Research via Federal Reserve Bank-St. Louis
All sorts of current and historical data and papers. Includes ArchivaL Federal Reserve Economic Data (AlFred), FRASER (Federal Reserve Archive of statistics and papers) among others.

American FactFinder
Current population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the US Census Bureau.  Includes the Annual Survey of Manufactures, Economic Census, Current Population Estimates, Business Patterns, and American Community Surveys.  The Guided Search walks you through each step in picking the data and/or geographies you want to download.
Congressional Budget Office (US)
Website with a current Monthly Budget Review, Budget Projections, Economic Projections, Status of Discretionary Appropriations, Historical Budget Data Spreadsheets for Selected Estimates and Projections, and a Glossary of Budgetary and Economic Terms.

Beige Book Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis.

c.) Wells Fargo Monthly Economic Outlook

Wells Fargo Economic Indicator Reports at https://www.wellsfargo.com/com/research/economics/

d.) Survey of professional forecasters The Survey of Professional Forecasters is the oldest quarterly survey of macroeconomic forecasts in the United States. The survey began in 1968 and was conducted by the American Statistical Association and the National Bureau of Economic Research. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia took over the survey in 1990.

e.) White House: Economic Statistics Briefing Room

f.) Conference Board: Business Cycle Indicators such as leading indicators for US and several foreign countries

2.) Global Economy Factors

a.) World Bank Prospects for the global economy

Other Statistical Sites - International

Official Statistics on the Web (OFFSTATS)
Free statistics from official sources, including current data and time series for regions and topic categories. Many data sets are downloadable as text or spreadsheet files.
International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund)
Time series data for major economic aggregates as well as current data on exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, currency, interest rates, prices, production, trade, government accounts, GDP, and national accounts.
Central Bank lists from Bank for International Settlements
Link to Central Banks for countries around the world. Useful for getting statistics, exchange rate information and news and policy briefings.
Eurostat
Statistical data for European Union members.
European Commission Data Portal
The EC data portal provides access to 5800+ data sets, mostly coming from Eurostat. With the portal, the European Union intends to open up public sector information pro-actively for free re-use in Europe, as part of the European open data strategy.
World Development Reports from the World Bank
Here you will find every World Development Report published by the World Bank since the first report was released in 1978. pertaining to a specific development topic, ranging from agriculture, education, and the environment to infrastructure, trade and poverty reduction.
Economy Watch -Economic Statistics/Indicators database
Worldwide, by country, economic region and geographical regionfrom 1980 to 2016 forecasts. Over 50 indicators from our database of 1,000 are currently display by Econ Stats. Data Sources: IMF, World Bank, UN, OECD, CIA World Factbook, Internet World Statistics, The Heritage Foundation and Transparency International
GeoHive
A site with all kinds of statistics. The main component is population statistics: historical, projections, cities, agglomerations, etc. But also geopolitical data like the administrative divisions of countries (provinces, counties and such) of all nations of this world. In addition, some economical statistics and an up-to-date list of all known national statistical agencies.

top

Competitive Industry Analysis

Print Resources

Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys : Call Number: HC106.6 .S74 location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

Standard and Poor’s (NetAdvantage) Online version of the Standard and Poors Surveys and Corporate Records

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys are the fastest way to come up to speed on the players and events impacting over fifty (50) of the largest North American and global industries. Ideal for management consultants, strategic planners, money managers, public and academic librarians, students, and business faculty; Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys enable readers to think and act like industry insiders.

Each report is authored by a Standard & Poor's industry research analyst and includes the following sections: Current Environment, Industry Trends, How the Industry Operates, Key Industry Ratios and Statistics, How to Analyze a Company, Glossary of Industry Terms, Additional Industry Information References and Comparative Company Financial Analysis.

Manufacturing & Distribution USA: Call Number: Ref HD 9721.M3495 2003 3 volumes location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios: (Also know as the “Troy Almanac”) Call number Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68 location : Reference collection NSU BA Library

Annual Statement Studies/RMA Call number: Ref HF 5681 .B2 R58 Location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

top

Other Online Resources

Yahoo Finance: Industry Center: http://biz.yahoo.com/ic/ind_index.html


Career Onestop: http://www.careerinfonet.org/industry/Ind_State.aspx?id=8&nodeid=10

Page maintained by: Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: May 15, 2014