Spacer

Business Strategy and Policy

Getting Started

Journal Indexes and Articles

Newspapers

Classification Codes

International Trade

Company Information

External Environment

Competitive Industry Analysis

Other Useful Resources

Financial Ratio Analysis

Gary Cheatham’s Instruction Page



Getting
Started:

NSU Broken Arrow Library Home Page http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html

NSU John Vaughan Library Home Page : http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

*Note: to search from your home computer, you need to have your NSU NT Username and password.

top

Journal Indexes (search for articles in journals and magazines on your topic)

NSU Databases Arranged By Subject

NSU Databases Arranged by Title

1.) Ebscohost-"Family of databases"

A.) Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. This database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998.

B.) Academic Search Premier

Designed specifically for academic institutions, Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals.

C.) MasterFILE Premier

MasterFILE Premier contains full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. This database also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.

2.) Proquest (ABI Inform)

Includes selected full text and images of a wide variety of business journals.

3.) OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson)

Wilson OmniFile: Full Text Mega Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing the complete content - indexing, abstracts, and full text - from six of Wilson's full-text databases:

Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, Wilson Business Full Text.

Contents includes: full text articles from over 2,500 publications (many of them peer-reviewed), dating back to 1994.

top

Newspapers (good sources for current and local events and topics)

Wall Street Journal -The Wall Street Journal is one of the leading daily business newspaper publications available in the United States. Its various sections cover current business and industry information as well as daily quotes of stocks, bonds, mutual funds, interset rates, and other financial instruments.

  • Current Issues in print: Available on the NSU BA Library first floor Browsing Collection.

Older Electronic articles (not quotes) : Available through ABI Inform (Limit searches to Wall street Journal)

1.) Newsbank and Ebscohost Newspapers(on the newspapers page)-includes full text articles from several national newspapers.
http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html#newspapers

2).Yahoo Newspapers by country:

http://dir.yahoo.com/News_and_Media/Newspapers/By_Region/Countries/


top

Classification Codes

North American Industry Classification (NAIC) http://www.census.gov/epcd/www/naics.html

Schedule B Export Codes: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/schedules/b/

International trade codes: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/reference/codes/index.html#hts

SIC Classification Codes for products and services: http://www.bizminer.com/SIC-industry-description.asp

top

Corporate Financial Information

1.) Mergent online

Mergent provides a fully searchable database of 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges. Each company report incorporates up-to-the-minute news items.

Mergent Online offers access to Wall Street consensus earnings estimates on all companies in the database followed by at least one Wall Street analyst. Mergent's company files also provide access to EDGAR® filings dating back to 1993 and updated daily.

Rich textual descriptions offer a wealth of detail on items including business description, history, property, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form and in native currencies, maintaining the full integrity of this critical information

2.) Thomson One BankerExcellent tool for researching peer corporations within predetermined or customizable peer groups.


3.) Valueline

4.) Morningstar

5.) Annual reports to shareholders are avialable through Mergent online or from
Annualreports.com
free online annual reports to shareholders for most major US corporations.

6.) Mission Statements/ Values Statements, etc. These items are usually found on the corporation’s web site. At other times, these

Items are found in annual reports to shareholders or other official documents.

top

International Trade Statistics

1.) Foreign Trade Statistics

http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/country/index.html

2.) Statistical Abstract of the United States at http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/

3.) State Export Data: http://www.census.gov/foreign-trade/statistics/state/index.html

top

External Environment Resources

1.) Trends in demography, culture, technology and politics impact the business environment in which business seek to operate.

The business literature is an excellent source for locating and identifying various trends. Journal databases such as:

Proquest (ABI Inform)

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson)

Business Source Premier

Can be useful in searching business literature. Within these database, publications such as Brandweek, and Advertising Age are excellent

resources for locating various trends. Be sure to incorporate into your search such terms as:

trend* (ie social trend*)

new development*

prediction*

forecast*

as well as related terms.

2.) Economic Indicators concerning the United States economy can be located at the following sites:

a.) Economic Indicators. gov Economic Indicators.gov is brought to you by the Economics and Statistics Administration at the U.S. Department of Commerce.

It provides timely access to the daily releases of key economic indicators from the Bureau of Economic Analysis and the U.S. Census Bureau.

b. ) Federal Reserve Statistics

Beige Book Commonly known as the Beige Book, this report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector. An overall summary of the twelve district reports is prepared by a designated Federal Reserve Bank on a rotating basis.

c.) Wells Fargo Monthly Economic Outlook

Wells Fargo Economic Indicator Reports at https://www.wellsfargo.com/com/research/economics/

d.) Survey of professional forecasters The Survey of Professional Forecasters is the oldest quarterly survey of macroeconomic forecasts in the United States. The survey began in 1968 and was conducted by the American Statistical Association and the National Bureau of Economic Research. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia took over the survey in 1990.

e.) White House: Economic Statistics Briefing Room

f.) Conference Board: Business Cycle Indicators such as leading indicators for US and several foreign countries

3.) Global Economy Factors

a.) World Bank Prospects for the global economy

top

Financial Ratio Analysis

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios: (Also know as the “Troy Almanac”)

Call number Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68

Location : Reference collection NSU BA Library

Annual Statement Studies/RMA

Call number: Ref HF 5681 .B2 R58

Location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

top

Competitive Industry Analysis

Print Resources

Standard and Poor’s Industry Surveys :

Call Number: HC106.6 .S74

Location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

Standard and Poor’s (NetAdvantage) Online version of the Standard and Poors Surveys and Corporate Records

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys are the fastest way to come up to speed on the players and events impacting over fifty (50) of the largest North American and global industries. Ideal for management consultants, strategic planners, money managers, public and academic librarians, students, and business faculty; Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys enable readers to think and act like industry insiders.

Each report is authored by a Standard & Poor's industry research analyst and includes the following sections: Current Environment, Industry Trends, How the Industry Operates, Key Industry Ratios and Statistics, How to Analyze a Company, Glossary of Industry Terms, Additional Industry Information References and Comparative Company Financial Analysis.

Manufacturing & Distribution USA:

Call Number: Ref HD 9721.M3495 2003 3 volumes

Location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios: (Also know as the “Troy Almanac”)

Call number Ref HF 5681 .R25 T68

Location : Reference collection NSU BA Library

Annual Statement Studies/RMA

Call number: Ref HF 5681 .B2 R58

Location: Reference collection NSU BA Library

top

Other Online Resources

Industry Center at Yahoo Finance: http://biz.yahoo.com/ic/ind_index.html

US Census Bureau Business and Economic Statistics

Page maintained by: Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 1, 2013