Spacer

Biology (Human Physiology)

Access

Suggested Key-Word/ Subject Search Terms

Books

Articles

Citation Resources

Internet Resources

 

Scholarly Writing

 

Access

NSU Broken Arrow Library: http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html

NSU John Vaughan Library Web Page: http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

top

Suggested Key-Word/ Subject Search Terms

One of the first steps in creating a research plan is to select “key words” which best describe the topic you plan to research.

If you are unfamiliar with the terminology you may wish to refer to sources such as textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference resources in the field of study. Contact your instructor if you are unsure if a particular topic is appropriate. It is usually wise to make sure if you are on target with your topic before you begin to spend much time researching a project.

1.) Key terms to use individually and in combination with each other:                    
Muscle

musculoskeletal (alternate term)

Muscl* (truncated version)

Skel* (truncated version)

Specific sex :

Male

Female

Specific structures:

biceps brachii

diaphragm

2.) Combine key words with Boolean operators (and, or, not) .

3.) Phrase terms ie: the phrase heart muscle can be searched by placing the phrase in quotation marks “heart muscle”

top

Books

Print format books are available by searching the NSU online catalog.

NSU Libraries Catalog: http://library2.nsuok.edu/

Searches may be limited to just the Broken Arrow campus for convenience. Books available on the Tahlequah campus may be ordered for delivery to the Broken Arrow campus. It usually takes two to three days for materials to arrive via campus mail.

Electronic books: Netlibrary provides access to over 25,000 academic books to NSU students 24/7.

NetLibrary http://library.nsuok.edu/Refdesk/vrdbks.html (click on netlibrary)

top

Articles

Articles from journals may be accessed through our various online database available through this link:

Articles page: http://library.nsuok.edu/Indexes/index.html

Suggested Sources for Full-Text Articles:

EbscoHost: (search multiple databases simultaneously)

Academic Search Elite:

Masterfile Premier

Medline (PubMed)

BIOONE

Wilson Omnifile

Additional Full Text Journal Databases

Highwire ( Stanford University

top

Bibliography and References Citation Format Guides:

Publication Manual (APA)                                                Call # BF 76.7 .P83 2001 Reference

APA Style Manual Guides

APA Electronic Style Guides      

NSU BA Writing Center

top

Scholarly Writing for the Sciences

Scholarly writing in the sciences follows very specific processes and formats.

The following resources will assist you in developing appropriate and effective scholarly publications.

The Structure, Format, Content, and Style of a Journal-Style Scientific Paper (Bates College)

How to Read a Scientific Paper (University of Toronto)

top

Useful internet sites:

LUMEN Master Muscle List (Loyola University)

Lumen Learn Em (Loyola University)

Visible Human Cross Sections (Loyola University)

Interactive Body Guide (Merck Source)

Human Anatomy Online (MyHealthScore.com)

Textbook in Medical Physiology And Pathophysiology :Essentials and clinical problems

Copenhagen Medical Publishers  1999 – 2000

top

Page maintained by: Dr. Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 1, 2013