Spacer

Coral Reef Ecology

Access

Suggested Key-Word/ Subject Search Terms

Books

Articles

Citation Resources

Internet Resources

ReefBase GIS Mapper

Species Frequency Reports Diving Belize

FishBase

Reefbase home

Status of coral reefs of the world: 2008

Belize Weather

CephBase

Neogene Marine Biota of Tropical America

Diving Safety Articles

 

Hexacorallians of the World

Coral Reef Protection (US EPA)

Access                                                              

NSU Broken Arrow Library: http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html

NSU John Vaughan Library Web Page: http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

top

Suggested Key-Word/ Subject Search Terms

One of the first steps in creating a research plan is to select “key words” which best describe the topic you plan to research.

If you are unfamiliar with the terminology you may wish to refer to sources such as textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference resources in the field of study. Contact your instructor if you are unsure if a particular topic is appropriate. It is usually wise to make sure if you are on target with your topic before you begin to spend much time researching a project.

1.) Key terms to use individually and in combination with each other:
Belize
Coral Reef
fish* (truncated version)
ecology
ecolog* (truncated version)

Specific species such as:
Yellowtail snapper
Butterflyfish

Specific topics:

Coral bleaching

Water temperature

2.) Combine key words with Boolean operators (and, or, not) .

            e.g. Belize and coral bleaching

3.) Phrase terms can be searched by placing the phrase in quotation marks e.g: “over fishing”

top

Books

Print format books are available by searching the NSU online catalog.

NSU Libraries Catalog: http://library2.nsuok.edu/

Useful Books at the NSU BA Library

The Biology of Coral Reefs / Charles R.C. Sheppard, Simon K. Davy, Graham M. Pilling.

A Field Guide to the Mammals of Central America and Southeast Mexico / written and illustrated by Fiona A. Reid.

Reef fish identification : Galapagos / Paul Humann, Ned DeLoach.

Reef fish identification : Baja to Panama / Paul Humann, Ned DeLoach.

Reef coral identification : Florida, Caribbean, Bahamas including Marine Plants / Paul Humann, Ned DeLoach.

Reef creature identification : Florida, Caribbean, Bahamas / Paul Humann, Ned DeLoach.

Reef fish identification : Florida, Caribbean, Bahamas / Ned DeLoach ; with photographer Paul Humann.

Searches may be limited to just the Broken Arrow campus for convenience. Books available on the Tahlequah campus may be ordered for delivery to the Broken Arrow campus. It usually takes two to three days for materials to arrive via campus mail.

Electronic books: Netlibrary provides access to over 25,000 academic books to NSU students 24/7.

NetLibrary http://library.nsuok.edu/Refdesk/vrdbks.html (click on netlibrary)

Sample books of interest in netLibrary are: (you can copy and paste these titles)

Best Dives of the Caribbean

Coral Reefs

Species Coexistence : Ecological and Evolutionary Perspectives

Oceanography and Marine Biology

top

Articles

Articles from journals may be accessed through our various online databases available through this link:

Articles page:  

NSU Databases by Subject

NSU Databases by Name A-Z

Suggested databases for Full-Text articles available through the link above:

EbscoHost: (search multiple databases simultaneously) (Try searching key words “Belize” and “coral”)

(*BE SURE TO CHECK THE BOX THAT SAYS: Also search within the full text of the articles)

Academic Search Premier :  (excellent database)

Masterfile Premier

Wilson Omnifile  ( Another excellent database for full text articles)

BIOONE

HighWire: available through Stanford University. http://highwire.stanford.edu/cgi/search/

HighWire is a collection of electronic journals (some free) Primarily focused on medicine. However, some biology journals are available through this database.

top

Bibliography and References Citation Format Guides:

Publication Manual (APA)                                                        Call #   BF 76.7 .P83 2001 Reference

APA Style Web Guide by Linda Summers http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/Guides/Stylemanuals/APAStyle.html

top

Useful internet sites:

Belize Country Study http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/bztoc.html

Belize.net http://www.belize.net/search/npl.cgi

GreenReef http://www.greenreefbelize.com/

Global Coral Reef Alliance http://globalcoral.org/index.html

Scirus (scientific research search engine) http://www.scirus.com/

Page maintained by: Dr. Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 1, 2013