Cell Biology (BIOL-3124)
Search the library catalog here.
The full list of books in Broken Arrow retrieved using the terms "cell" and "biology."
The full list of books in Tahlequah retrieved using the terms "cell" and "biology."
REFERENCE COLLECTION (reference books, not for check-out) CALL NUMBER
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology Ref. Q121 .M3 1997
The National Museum of Natural History Ref. QH70.U62 W274 1982
Five Kingdoms: an Illustrated Guide . . . Ref. QH83 .M36 2002
Dictionary of Biology Ref. QH302.5 .I534 1999
Biology (4 volumes) Ref. QH307.2 .B556 2002
Genetics (4 volumes) Ref. QH427 .G46 2003
Dictionary of Genetics Ref. QH427 .K55 2002
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology Ref. QH506 .E53 1994
The Best Test Preparation for the GRE Biochemistry, Cell and Molecular . . . Ref. QP518.5 .B47 2008
Manual of Clinical Microbiology (2 volumes) Ref. QR46 .M425 2007
Bergey’s Manual of Determinative Bacteriology Ref. QR81 .A5 2000
Bergey’s Manual of Systematic Bacteriology (3 volumes) Ref. QR81 .B46 2001
Handbook of Toxicology Ref. RA1215 .C73 2002
Publication Manual (APA) Ref. BF76.7 .P83 2009
All of these resources are located in the reference collection on the 2nd floor of the Broken Arrow Campus Library (on the side of the room where the circulation/reference desk is). The above books are for use in the library only – you cannot check them out.
CIRCULATING COLLECTION (circulating books)
Essential Cell Biology QH581.2 .E78 1998
Molecular Biology of the Cell QH581.2 .M64 2002
Molecular Cell Biology QH581.2 .D37 1990
The World of the Cell QH581.2 .B43 2000
These titles (and more) are located in the regular circulating collection on the 2nd floor of the Broken Arrow Campus Library (on the side of the room across/furthest from the circulation/reference desk). These items are available for check-out.
DATABASES AVAILABLE THROUGH NSU LIBRARIES (articles)
To access the below databases, go to the library’s main page (http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/), click on “Articles and Databases,” then select the “Natural Sciences and Mathematics” link.
Remember the two most important Boolean operators (AND and OR). If your searches are retrieving too many hits, try narrowing your search with AND (e.g., enzyme AND glycoprotein). If you are getting too few, try OR (e.g., DNA OR genome).
BioOne sees sustainable scholarly publishing as an inherently collaborative enterprise connecting authors, nonprofit publishers, academic institutions, research libraries, and research funders in the common goal of maximizing access to critical research.
A powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers forty individual databases (proprietary full text and popular) from leading information providers.
This database provides full text from more than 100 periodicals dating as far back as 1995, in addition to indexing and abstracts for nearly 300 periodicals back to 1984. With graphs, charts, diagrams, photos and illustrations that convey an abundance of scientific information, this is a must-have resource for science-related questions.
Contains a wealth of essential material for learning and detailed research in a single, easily-searched database. With the full text of articles from over 2,500 publications, and indexing and abstracts from nearly 3,600 publications, this database provides invaluable support for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work.
Highwire -- Hosts publications from researchers, clinicians, students, and other scholars seeking the best online research from a vast database of full-text scholarly, high-impact materials. (Stanford University)
The world's largest electronic collection of science, technology, and medicine full-text and bibliographic information. It offers a wide variety of features and content.
And, if we do not have access to an article you need in our print collection or online, you can always place a request with our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) department. This service is available at no cost to you.
WEB and OTHER USEFUL RESOURCES
When using the work of other people, always remember to
- Give credit if you use their words (quotation).
- Give credit if you use their sentiments or ideas (paraphrasing/summarizing)
- Give credit if you use their methods, techniques, or conclusions (replication/modification of prior work).
Avoid accidental plagiarism through proper citation methods.
APA Online Resources and Guides compiled by Linda Summers
APA Home http://www.apastyle.org/elecsource.html
Assorted Style Guides
NSU Writing Center: The Writing Center can assist students with all aspects of writing and writing skill improvement.
EVALUATING SOURCES (some things to consider)
“Scholarly” (Peer-Reviewed) versus “Popular” Journals
Wikipedia – a great starting point.
Open web versus proprietary online databases?
Remember to ask yourself the five “Ws” – “Who, what, when, where, and why?”
REVIEW VERSUS RESEARCH
It is important to distinguish between review articles and research articles. A review article’s primary purpose is not to present new research, but to summarize, analyze, discuss, and provide an overview of previously published work on a topic. A research article is designed to present new research, methods, and/or findings. Research articles often employ the IMRAD (Introduction, Methods, Research, and Discussion) format.
The Structure, Format, Content and Style of a Journal-Style Scientific Paper (Bates College)
The IMRAD Research Paper Format (Introduction, Methods, Research and Discussion)
Reading Scientific Articles (Stanford University)
LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION SCHEME
LC Class Outline, Subclass Q
Subclass QH Natural History - Biology
QH1-278.5 Natural history (General)
QH1-(199.5) General (Including nature conservation, geographical distribution)
QH301-705.5 Biology (General)
QH705-705.5 Economic biology