Spacer

Biology (Ecology)

Dr. Pamela Louderback

Assistant Professor/Information Services Librarian

Office:
Northeastern State University - Broken Arrow
E235 Library (Broken Arrow Campus Library)
3100 E. New Orleans

Broken Arrow, OK 74014

Telephone (918) 449-6453
FAX (918) 449-6454
Email: louderba@nsuok.edu

BIOL 3524

Biology (Ecology)

Access

Suggested Key-Word/ Subject Search Terms

Books

Articles

Citation Resources

Internet Resources

 

Scholarly Writing

 

Access

NSU Broken Arrow Library: http://library.nsuok.edu/nsuba/index.html

NSU John Vaughan Library Web Page: http://library.nsuok.edu/index.html

top

Suggested Keyword/ Subject Search Terms

One of the first steps in creating a research plan is to select “key words” which best describe the topic you plan to research.

If you are unfamiliar with the terminology you may wish to refer to sources such as textbooks, dictionaries, and other reference resources in the field of study. Contact your instructor if you are unsure if a particular topic is appropriate. It is usually wise to make sure if you are on target with your topic before you begin to spend much time researching a project.

1.) Key terms to use individually and in combination with each other:                    
Ecology

Ecosystem (alternate term)

ecolog* (truncated version)

Specific Areas such as:

Tall Grass Prairie

Marine

Specific topics:

Biodiversity

Competition and cooperation

2.) Combine key words with Boolean operators (and, or, not) .

3.) Phrase terms ie: Arkansas River can be searched by placing the phrase in quotation marks “Arkansas River”

top

Books

Print format books are available by searching the NSU online catalog.

Searches may be limited to just the Broken Arrow campus for convenience. Books available on the Tahlequah campus may be ordered for delivery to the Broken Arrow campus via campus mail. This service usually takes two to three days for materials to arrive.

Electronic books: Netlibrary provides access to over 40,000 academic books to NSU students 24/7.  Please note:  NSU Off Campus Users: When you get to the NetLibrary page, you must set up an account before you can use the service. If you have set up your account on campus, login to begin searching for titles.

(Click on Netlibrary icon)

top

Articles

Articles from journals may be accessed through our various online databases:

Databases by subject                           Online journals by title            

Suggested Sources for Full-Text Articles:

EbscoHost: (search multiple databases simultaneously)

Academic Search Elite:

Masterfile Premier

Medline

BIOONE

Additional Full Text Journal Databases

Highwire (Stanford University)  http://highwire.stanford.edu/cgi/search

HighWire hosts publications from researchers, clinicians, students, and other scholars seeking the best online research from a vast database of full-text scholarly, high-impact materials. The HighWire portal offers advanced searching and browsing capabilities and tools, creating an alternative means to find and make sense of information from over five million full-text articles; create keyword, citation or author alerts; and download citations across all the content HighWire hosts.

top

Bibliography and References Citation Format Guides:

Publication Manual (MLA)                                                        Call #   REF PN147 .G444

Style Guides

Scholarly versus “Popular” Journals

General Online Reference Sources

Citation and Plagiarism tutorial

top

Scholarly Writing for the Sciences

Scholarly writing in the sciences follows very specific processes and formats.

The following resources will assist you in developing appropriate and effective scholarly publications.

The Structure, Format, Content, and Style of a Journal-Style Scientific Paper (Bates College)

Reading Scientific Articles (Stanford University)

top

Useful internet sites:

Environmental Protection Agency

EPA (Internet Resources)

EPA Library Catalog Search

Bibliography of Ecology Research in Oklahoma from Oklahoma State University

Oklahoma Natural Heritage Documents from the University of Oklahoma

Butterflies and Moths of North America from the United States Geological Survey

USGS Science in Your State (Oklahoma)

U.S. Department of the Interior

top

Page maintained by: Dr. Pamela Louderback louderba@nsuok.edu
Last Updated: July 1, 2013